About Us Membership County History Lookup Research Links Contact UsSearchCalendar Home

 

Early Biographies

Armeah John Auburndale: Proprietor of Connor House. Was born at Dansville, N.Y., March 9, 1848. Left home in the spring of 1865 and went to Pikes Peak, remaining in the mining regions some six years, then returned as far as Portage County, Wis., and in 1874, settled at Auburndale. He was married October 9, 1878 to Miss Alice Shadduck, of Plainville, Adams County, Wis. They have one child, Gracie Belle.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Arnold Carl Altdorf: Carl Arnold came from Seedorf, Switzerland in 1884. He estabished a farm on what was described as "wild land" in the town of Seneca. His wife (Frances Ashwanden) and children joined him the following year. His sons, Anton and John, cleared the land for two more farms. Each has a son living on the original farm.
Children: Anton, Elizabeth, John married Mary Zurfluh; Aldrich married Anna Schilter; Mary married Adam Kundert.
Source: A Century of Faith-1879-1979
 
Austin Joseph Auburndale: Foreman. Has been at Auburndale since December of 1877. He is foreman and manager for the Menasha Woodenware Company, at their stave mill, at Auburndale. He was born in Montreal, Canada, October 3, 1848. Came, in 1870 to Chicago, remained there about eighteen months, then to Menominee, Mich.; then in the spring of 1874, went to Menasha, Wis., and worked at lumbering there until 1877, when after spending a few months at Wausau, he came to Auburndale as manager for the company. He was married April 1, 1877 to Miss Mary Crowley, of Waukesha. They have two children, Annie and Willie.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Baldwin Henry A. Auburndale: Merchant. Came to the village of Auburndale in November of 1877 and worked in the mill until about a year ago, when he commenced his pressent business. He was born in Depere, Wis., Oct. 2, 1851. His father, Samuel E. Baldwin, was a farmer and surveyor. Henry A., after he left home, worked four years for the C & N.W. R.R.; then lived two years at Stevens Point. He was married April 4, 1875 to Miss Althea Cleveland, of Medford, Wis. They have one child, Francis.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Baum Sam Pittsville: Sam Baum and his family came from Russia when he was thirty years old. He began earning his living by pedaling and dealing in general merchandise. He came to Pittsville in 1898 and successfully operated a general store until it burned in 1911. After this he owned and operated a creamery. He later opened another general store.
Source: Yellow River Pioneers
 
Bean Hiram A. Auburndale: Foreman for R. Connor & Co., of Marshfield, was born in Warner, N.H., 27th July, 1839. His father moved to Waukesha County, Wis., in 1851. He learned the trade of millwright, and has followed that business, and that of running mills as overseer ever since. He lived at Plainfield one year; ran Neeve's mill at Grand Rapids ten years; then a mill at Seneca; and has been in charge of this mill at Auburndale for the past three years. He was married, July 19, 1863, to Miss Ellen Lewis, of Grand Rapids. Have four children--Clarence, Herbert, Elsie and Alice.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Beattie James W. Marshfield: Warehouseman, was born in Clayton, Winnebago Co., Wis., April 28, 1853; lived there ever since, until December of 1880, when he came to Marshfield. Has followed farming and well-drilling and is now preparing to engage in general warehouse business at Marshfield with N. Blau. Was married October 18, 1876 to Miss Loraine Babcock of Clayton, Wis. They have two children, Jessie O. and Florence E. His father, Isaac Beattie, came to Clayton in 1844, and was one of the first settlers there. He died November 4, 1872. His mother still lives on the old homestead.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Bissig Jost Altdorf: As a youth, Jost Bissig was educated in Altdorf, Switzerland. He came to this country in 1883 from Attinghausen, Switzerland. His first wife Mary died and he married Margaret, who also died in Switzerland in 1881, just before Jost emmigrated.
He worked at clearing the land for others and logged the hugh white pine timber in this area. Later he moved to the Babcock area where he owned a cranberry marsh.
His children: Joseph O., Frank, Andrew, Agatha, Barbara and Jost.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979
 
Blau Nicholas Marshfield: Warehouseman, was born in the Rhine Province, November 2, 1841. He came to the United States and settled in Calumet County, Wis., in March of 1866, and worked at farming, also as stone mason at Clifton. Has been in the employ of J. Symes & Bro., for the past nine years at Sherwood, Calumet Co., until February last, when he came to Marshfield, to superintend the building of their stave factory. Has now formed a partnership with J.W. Beatie to build and operate a grain and general warehouse at Marshfield. He was married April 12, 1868 to Miss Lena Marx of Calumet County. Have five children--Nicholas, John, Jacob, Mary G. and Jennie L. His father, Bernhardt Blau, was a wine grower and died a few y
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Bohn Rudolph Town of Grant: Rudolph and Alvina Bohn were born in Russia and emigrated to Canada in 1909 and then to Wisconsin.
In 1933 they moved from Racine to Town of Grant with their eight children. Helmuth, Hertha, Hilda, Adina, Dora, Alice, Esther and Walter.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Bricker Joseph Altdorf: Joseph Bricker came to Altdorf, Wisconsin from Altdorf, Switzerland in 1884. His wife was Mary Ann Arnold, and had children: Anna married Dominick Wipfli, Katharine, Pauline, Sophia, Rose and Joseph.
He was a carpenter by trade and built houses and barns in the neighbor. He was described as an excellent hewer of logs. Later he went to Nekoosa, leaving Altdorf in the late 1890's.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Briggs Carl W. Grand Rapids, was born in Benson, Rutland Co., VT., April 21, 1846. Harvey Briggs, his father, a lawyer by profession, moved to Lewiston, WI., in 1855, and three years after removed to Marquette County. Here his father was soon elected County Judge and moved to Packwaukee, remaining there until the close of 1860, when he moved to Briggsville, where he still resides. In 1860 Carl W. commenced attending school at the Baraboo Collegiate Institute. In 1860 Gen. Maloy raised a company consisting largely of students at Baraboo. Although too young to be allowed to enlist with his schoolmates, young Briggs left school, and in the following December enlisted under Capt. Kershaw in Co. K of the 18th Wis., and served with the regiment until fall of 1863, climbing from corporal to sergeant meanwhile. On his arrival home he accepted the position of assisant general agent of the State Insurance Company, of Lansing Mich. In 1864 he raised a company in thirteen days' time and joined the 44th Wisc., as captain of Co. F, then being but eighteen years of age--the youngest captain in the State. This regiment reached Nashville Tenn., in time to participate in the battle of Nashville. Capt. Briggs took charge of the picket lines at Nashville for some time, and in February of 1865, went to Paducah as acting assistant inspector general of the post, under detail order, first of Gen. Guppy, then of Gen. Meredith, and then Gen. Palmer. During all this time he was also president of the Council of Administration of the Post. He remained there until the close of the war, and Oct 2, 1865, was mustered out of service. In December, 1865, he took the general agency of the Michigan Central Insurance Company of Kalamazoo, Mich. In the fall of 1866 he helped organize the Merchants & Farmers National Insurance Company, of Michigan, and acted as secretary of that company for about two years, then quit insurance and commenced reading law; was admitted to the Bar in 1872; practiced in Marquette County until he came to Grand Rapids and formed a co-partnership with L.P. Powers. They were general solicitors of the Wisconsin Velley Railroad until its purchase by the St. Paul Company, since which time they have retained by that company.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Brown William H. Grand Rapids: Ice dealer. Came to Grand Rapids, Wis., in 1853, and engaged in logging and lumbering; continued at this until he enlisted in January 1864, in Co G, 12th Wisconsin Volunteers. Was in the Army of the Tennessee, having joined the Command near Vickburg. The 17th Army Corps was attached to the 15th Ohio Battery for a few months, then detailed to the Corps headquarters, where he remained to the close of the war, and was discharged June 1865. Returned to Grand Rapids and resumed his former employment in which he continued until 1873, when he commenced his present business of dealing in ice and moving buildings. Mr. B. was born June 6 1832, in Wilford Township, Canada, near the Rideau Canal. Lived at the head of Lake Ontario for a few years, then at Niagara Falls. Came to Chicago in 1853 and the same year to Grand Rapids, Wis. Was married to Miss Sarah Horton, July 6, 1855. She died Feb 3, 1872. Was married Feb. 27, 1879, to Mrs. Mary Ward of Grand Rapids. Mr. Brown has served as member of the School Board and of the City Council of Grand Rapids.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Brown George W. Pittsville: George Brown came to Pittsville in 1886. He farmed inside the city limits and was an auctioneer and a veterinary surgeon. He held many positions such as state game warden and school board president.
Source: Yellow River Pioneers
 
Burt Frederick W. Grand Rapids, son of William Hubbard and Elizabeth Jones Burt, was born in Newark, N.J., in 1830. His father died of cholera in 1833. In 1836 his mother moved, with her three children, to St. Catherines, Canada, where they remained until 1850, when they moved to Stoughton, Wisc. In 1852 F.W. Burt obtained a position as clerk in a hotel at Madison, and not long after as salesman in a wholesale grocery house, where he remained until 1855, when he came to Grand Rapids. He has remained here ever since, with the exception of two years, which he spent in Missouri. Mr. B. has been Town Clerk, Justice of the Peace, Clerk of the Court for Wood County for three terms and Assistant Postmaster, with the office in charge for over six years, and is holding the place at the present time. He enlisted Sept. 12, 1861, in Co. G. 7th Wisc. Vols., which was in the "Old Iron Brigade", was discharged March 28, 1862, because of chronic diarrhea and rheumatism. Mr. B. was married in 1855 to Miss Celeste E. Jersey of Portage City. They had seven children--Jessie Eva, Fredericka Wilma, who died at the age of two years; Harrie A., Frederick William Jr.; Walter Edwin; William Wallace and Carson Otto. Mr. B. is a member of the Masonic Order and also of the I.O.O.F.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Cain William A. Marshfield: Architect and builder, came to Marshfield in August of 1880, from Arcadia, Tremplealeau Co. He was born in Ornville, Piscataquis Co., Me., March 19, 1844. His father, William F. Cain, moved in 1855 to Waupaca Co., Wis., where he bought a farm, on which he still resides. William A. enlisted in Co. B, 38th Wis.V.I., February 23, 1864 and received his discharge in November of 1865. He was in the army of the Potomac, and was in every battle from that of Spottsylvania until the close of the war. After the war, he learned the carpenter's trade at Oshkosh, and has worked at it ever since, but principally as architect and builder. He was married, November 28, 1868 to Miss Delia S. Davids of Amherst, Wis. She was born in West Poultney, Vt, November 2, 1847. He has built nearly all the depots on the G.B. & M R.R. Has been Justice of the Peace at Arcadia, and is at present holding that office in Marshfield.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Christensen Peter Nicholas Grand Rapids; Was born on the small Island of Laaland, the most southeasterly island of Denmark, on the 1st of October, 1847. His father was a school teacher by profession. Mr C. left home in 1862 to oversee a large farm, where he remained until 1866, when he came to the United States, and soon after to Wisconsin. He worked at logging and lumbering until 1870, when he bought a heavily timbered tract of land in the town of Lincoln, Wood Co., which he has cleared and cultivated, and upon which he has built a large barn and comfortable dwelling where he now resides. He has been Clerk of the town of Lincoln nine years, and connected with the Board of Education since 1873. In 1880, he was elected Register of Deeds for Wood County, which office he at present holds. Mr. C. was married to Miss Martha Thompson Ebbe, step-daughter of I.H. Ebbe, of Nasonville, Feb. 1, 1873. They have four children--Caroline M.; Lewis P.; Clarence C. and B. Lillian. Mr. C. has living next neighbor to him his only brother, Jacob, who came here in 1867, and has followed farming also. He is a graduate of Blaagard Seminary, Copenhagen.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Chrystal John Saratoga: John Chrystal came to Saratoga Township just after it was formed. He was born in Scotland in October of 1816, and married Elizabeth (Law) Marr in 1859 in Saratoga. They lived on a large tract of land just east of the now intersection of Hwy 13 and 73.
He farmed the land and also served as Town Treasurer for some time. They had Elizabeth's son Andrew, from her first marriage, and a son Thomas and two daughters, Agnes and Bell.
Source: Saratoga Sands by Rhonda Whetstone
 
Clark Charles H. Marshfield: Publisher of Marshfield 'Times'. Was born in Morris County, N.J., July 4, 1842. His mother died in 1846 and his father moved to DeKalb County, Ill., in 1849, then to Milwaukee in 1852, then to Manistee, Mich., where his father died in 1868. Charles H. had no opportunities for an education, his father nearly all the time living on the frontier. At the age of fourteen, he commenced to learn the cooper's trade and worked at it for eight years, then inspected lumber about six years and was in a drug store. In 1876, he started the 'Centennial' newspaper at Waterloo, Neb.; then next year moved to Craig, Mo., and for two years published the Craig 'Enterprise'. Came to Centralia, Wis., in 1879, and started the 'Enterprise', as an independent paper; sold out to Judge Hayden some six months after; then came to Marshfield and published the Marshfield 'Times', also the 'Wood County Herald', a German paper, both Republican. The 'Herald' is no longer published, but he has just started an independent paper in Cumberland, Baron Co. Was married October 4, 1863 to Miss Elnora A. Taylor of Newbury, Wis. Have one child, Ida May. Mr Clark is a Mason and an Odd Fellow.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Connor James Auburndale: Lumberman and farmer, was born in Johnstone, Renfrewshire, Scotland, April 15, 1849. He commenced farming in 1871, in Wellington County, Canada. Continued there until 1873, when he came, in the company with his brothers, Robert and John, and settled on the farm where he now lives, on Sec. 23,25,4,east. His farm was heavily timbered, as was also the site of the village of Auburndale. He has cleared about sixty acres on his home farm, and erected good buildings. He was married, February 11, 1870, to Miss Mary H. Thompson, daughter of Samuel Thompson, of Toronto, Canada. They have three children--Thomas J.; Albert A. and Daisy H. He is a member of the Good Templars, and is President of the Board of Trustees of the Village of Auburndale.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Connor John Auburndale: Lumberman and merchant, son of William and Margaret(nee Prentice) Connor, was born February 29, 1844, at Johnstone, Renfrewshire, Scotland. His father moved to Stratford, Canada, in 1855. In 1873, John, in partnership with his brothers, Robert and James, came to Wood County, Wis., founded Auburndale and built there mills, store, hotel and dwellings, and settled there with their families. John Connor was married October 10, 1869 to Miss Maria Thompson, of Richmond Hill, Ontario. They have six children--James, Mary, Elizabeth, Robert, Charles and Franklin W. Mr. Connor is Supervisor, to represent the village of Auburndale in the County Board.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Connor Robert Auburndale: Lumberman and merchant, was born in Johnstone, Renfrewshire, Scotland, November 25, 1838. His father, William Connor, who was a farmer and canvasser, came in 1855, with his three sons, Robert, John and James, to Belle Isle, then to Stratford, Canada; and the following year, the mother came to them, with the rest of the family, to Stratford, where they settled and followed farming. Here the father died November 11, 1860. The three brothers, Robert, James and John, came to Wood County, Wis., in 1873 and commenced making clearings in the dense woods, for a place to build mills and dwellings. They were the first settlers in that immediate vicinity, and having built a steam saw-mill, a planing mill, a shingle, lath, stave and heading mill, a store and dwellings, they named the place Auburndale. Here the mother came to live with her sons, and her eyesight failing, she learned to read with her fingers in her raised-letter Bible they obtained for her, such as is printed for the blind. She returned to Scotland in 1878 at the age of seventy-five years, where she still remains among the scenes of her childhood. Robert was married, January 5, 1861 in Canada, to Miss Mary McLeish, of Perthshire, Scotland. They have eight children--Maggie, Jessie, Willie, Annie, Mary, Lizzie, Aggie and Robert. He has been Postmaster ever since an office was opened in Auburndale. He is also express agent, Town Treasurer and School District Treasurer. He is the general manager of the business of the firm of R. Connor & Co.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Coon Deloss R. Auburndale: Merchant, was born in Truxton, Madison County, N.Y., August 13, 1841. His father, Ambrose Coon, moved to Dane County, Wis., and after living there one year, moved to Montello, where he still resides. In 1860, Deloss was employed by J. & B. Knowles to take charge of their grain warehouse at East Randolph, and continued in their employ two years; then he bought a farm in Dakota, Waushara County. He enlisted November 16, 1862 in Co. G, 30th Wis Vols., and received his discharge in the fall of 1865. His regiment was at Ft. Wadsworth and then at Louisville, Ky., doing provost duty. After the war, he returned to his farm at Dakato; afterward, engaged in selling fanning-mills for two seasons, then in April of 1872, went within a few miles of where Auburndale now is and started up a farm on Sec. 28, Town 25, Range 5 east, and cleared about fourty to fifty acres before the Wisconsin Central Railroad had been built further west than Stevens Point. He remained on this farm about six years, took a trip to Colorado, then came to Auburndale and engaged in the merchantile business. He was married, March 5, 1860 to Miss Sarah Witter of Dakota, Waushara County. Have one child, Ralph. Mr. C. has been member of the Town Board, Assessor and Census Enumerator.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Coon Charles A. Marshfield: Bookkeeper, son of E.W. Ward and Marcia M. Coon, was born at Palmyra, Jefferson Co., Wis., February 25, 1856. His father was a merchant and hotel keeper, formerly from Honeoye Falls, N.Y. Charles received a common and high school education at Palmyra, and afterward attended Milton College a short time. He commenced teaching at the age of sixteen, and in 1875 came to Marshfield and taught school for three years near Nasonville. Since then has been engaged as book-keeper with C.M. Upham & Bro. He was married 24th of April, 1878 to Miss Ella McShane of Grand Rapids. Have one child,Marcia. He is Justice of Peace and School Clerk.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Corning Hamilton Port Edwards: Superintendent of booms and river works, at Port Edwards mills. Was born in Canada, near Montreal, May 19, 1820. He worked at lumbering in Canada and after he came here in August 1851, worked on the river and at logging for Clinton and others awhile, and afterward built dams, piers and booms in the Wisconsin River. For many years past he had been superintendent of river works for J. Edwards & Co. He was married February 4, 1849 to Miss Charlotte Arnold; she died in 1855, leaving four children--Charles J., Margaret A., now Mrs Tibbets, William G., and Mary E., now Mrs Allds. Feb. 6, 1861 he married Miss Margaret A. Arnold, a sister of his first wife. They have two children--John J., and Hamilton. Charles J. was born Dec. 24, 1854. He has attended the Riverside Institute at Lyons, Iowa, one year, and two years at the Iowa Agricultural College, also the State Normal School at Cedar Falls, Iowa, and has taught school several terms.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Corriveau George A. Centralia: Merchant, was born in Quebec, Canada, Feb. 4, 1831. His father, Peter Corriveau, was a contractor and builder, and also carried on a farm. He had five girls and seven boys, of which George A. is the youngest. George remained at home until fourteen years of age, when he engaged as clerk for four years in Montreal, then worked seven years as carpenter in Rochester, N.Y. He spent one winter in Michigan and then in the spring of 1858, came to Centralia, Wis. Built first wagon shop and Blacksmith shop in Centralia. Commenced as merchant in 1866 and built his present store in 1879, has also a store in Pittsville. Mr. C. was married December 12, 1860 to Miss Cotey, of Grand Rapids, Wis., a niece of F. Beron. Have seven children.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Cotey Joseph L. Grand Rapids: Deputy Lumber Inspector. Came to Grand Rapids, November 1846, and engaged in Lumbering with his Uncle, Francis X. Biron. Continued with his uncle until 1850, when he went to California. Stayed in California two years, then returned and bought in with his uncle in the lumbering business again. Remained with him a year, then sold out and bought the Grignon Mill, at that time called the Merrill Mill. Great freshets washed out the dam and the logs for two years in succession, so he had to give up the mill. Then went up the river, near Lake Flambeau, on the "Toma-hawk," exploring and locating pine lands for himself and others. Enlisted as private, Nov. 5, 1861, in Co G, 18th Wisc. Volunteer Army. Veteranized and stayed to the close of the war, and was discharged July 20, 1865, as Captain of Co. G., 18th Wisc. V.I., his captain's commission dating November, 1864. He was at the battle of Shiloh and in fifteen pitched battles and in all the engagements of his regiment. Since his discharge he has been employed in sealing logs, and Lumber Inspector under appointment from the several Governors. This office he resigned in 1880. Capt. Cotey was born in St. Francis, Lower Canada, March 19, 1831, and came from there to Grand Rapids in 1846. Was married Sept. 5, 1853, to Miss Mary A. Byrne, of Grand Rapids. They have had three children, one of whom is now living; Appleton B. Cotey, now merchant at Pittsville, Wisconsin.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Cotey Appleton B. Pittsville: A.B. Cotey was one of the first merchants to operate a general store in Pittsville. In the fall of 1878, Mr. Cotey established himself in business as general merchant in partnership with George A Corriveau. Their store was unique as being the first of this kind in Pittsville.
Mr. Cotey was born in Grand Rapids, Wisconsin on November 10, 1856. He was the son of Joseph and Mary Cotey. He was educated in Grand Rapids and graduated from Howe School in 1870. From there he went on and took a Course in Bailey's Business College in Dubugue, Iowa. After traveling and working at various jobs, He came to Pittsville.
Appleton Cotey was married in Pittsville on December 16, 1878 to Nellie E. Smith. He and his wife had three children: Coole, Henry, and Dawn. Dawn later married Thomas Crowley. Mrs. Cotey died in February of 1920.
In 1881, Cotey bought out his uncle, George A. Corriveau and soon erected the block known as the McLaughlin Building. He sold this business in 1902, but in 1908 he re-entered the mercantile business. In 1912 he sold this, taking charge of the Arpin interest for a year. He retired from business life in 1914.
Source: Yellow River Pioneers
 
Dean Charles W. Auburndale: Apiarist, was born in Rochester, N.Y., December 27, 1855. His father, William C. Dean, a carpenter by trade, was born in Coburg, Canada, April 26, 1830; moved to Rochester in 1851. Was married in 1854, to Miss Mary E. Parker of Lima, N.Y. Charles W. was married, August 16, 1880 to Miss Martha Syms, daughter of Peter P. Syms of Auburndale, Wis. He is engaged prinpally in bee culture in the season of it. He is also employed in lumbering.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Dean Joseph P. Auburndale: Foreman, was born May 28, 1857, in Rochester, N.Y. His father William C. Dean, moved soon after to Kenosha, Wis., then to Omro in 1859, where he lived until 1876, when he moved to Auburndale. Joseph P. commenced business for himself in 1878 and is now foreman in R. Connor & Co.'s planing, shingle, stave and lath mill at Auburndale.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
DeMars George E.D. Centralia: M.D., was born March 31, 1859 in the city of Cleveland, Ohio. His father was of French parentage and his mother of Scotch. George received his literary education at Brooklyn Academy; was graduated at Western Reserve Medical College, Cleveland, Ohio in 1874. Remained in Cleveland and practiced a year, and in 1875 came to Centralia, Wis., and commenced practice as a physician. he was married, May 18, 1875 to Miss Emmeline Lafond, a daughter of J.E. Lafond, a banker, then of Montreal, now of Chicago, Ill. They have two children, Everett and Maude.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Deming Arthur E. Marshfield: Attorney, was born at Vienna, Dane Co., Wis., March 29, 1856. He is a son of Joseph and Betsy Fisher Deming, who still reside on their farm in Vienna. He received a common school and acadamic education. Taught school two terms, studied law with Burr Jones, Esq., of Madison and pursued the full course in the law school, and was graduated at the State University at Madison. He came to Marshfield and commenced business as an attorney, February 20, 1880.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Dessaint Peter T. Grand Rapids: Proprietor of Grand Rapids House. Came to Grand Rapids in 1862. Is a painter by trade, and worked at it until 1880, when he rented the Grand Rapids House. He was born in St. Roche, in Lower Canada, Feb. 12, 1831. Left there in 1849, and came to Milwaukee, Wisconsin; stayed there until 1860, then came to New Lisbon, where he enlisted July, 1861, in Co. H, 10th Wis. V. At the battle of Chattanooga was ruptured and sent to the hospital at Louisville, and was discharged in April, 1862; was married, Oct. 18, 1850, to Miss Mary Tebo, of Milwaukee, a niece of Solomon Juneau. Have had ten children--Mary, now Mrs Boldue; Magdalen, now Mrs Berard; Louis; Andrew and John, all killed by lightening; Albert, Emery; J.B.; Rosalie; and George William.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Ebbe John H. Nasonville: Farmer, northwest one-fourth Section 27. Came to the town of Lincoln September 24, 1867. He was born on the Island of Laaland, Denmark, May 28, 1826. His brother C.H. Ebbe came to Wisconsin in 1863. John H. followed in 1864; came to Lake Mills, Jefferson Co. and lived there until 1867. He is a wagon-maker by trade and followed that occupation in the old country, but has followed farming principally in this country. He was married February 2, 1854 to Miss Maria Henderson of Laalen. She died leaving four children, two of who are still living--Mary, now Mrs Cuttele and John J. He was married in 1865 to Mrs. Thompson, whose maiden name was Julia Alison. He has by this marriage, five children--Hans, Willie, Henry, Julia and Albert. He also adopted Thomas and Lewis Thompson, sons of, and Martha, now Mrs Peter N. Christensen, the daughter of Mrs Thompson. His father, Hans Ebbe, and his mother Bodel, nee Hanson, Ebbe, are still living at the old homestead in Denmark. He is Chairman of Town Board, County Supervisor, also School Director.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Edwards Wm. H.H. Grand Rapids: Born in Hazel Green, Grant Co, Wis., December 4, 1840. Received a common school education, and at twenty-one years of age went to Port Edwards, and into the lumber business with his father and brothers. In 1870, he was married to Miss Janette Kirkwood, who has since died, leaving one daughter. Was engaged for two years in a lumber yard, and afterward in Dunlieth, part of the time on his own account; finally came back to Port Edwards in the lumber interest. Since 1876 has been in Grand Rapids. he is now engaged in merchandising. While at Port Edwards he was for two terms town treasurer. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Erickson Elias S. Centralia: Came to Centralia in 1855, and engaged in lumbering and most of the time since has followed the same business. He went to Nevada in 1872 and stayed there seven years, lumbering and mining. He was born in Burosan, Sweden, May 13, 1835 and came to the United States in 1854, and went to Chicago, then to Elgin, and the next year came to Centralia, Wis. In 1862 he enlisted in the 23rd Wis. V.I., Co. C., and served to the close of the war, and left Mobile, Ala., July 4, 1865 and was discharged at madison, July 20. He was under Gen. Grant at Siege of Vicksburg, and with Gen. Banks at the Red River expedition and at the siege of Mobile, Ala. He entered the service as a private and was discharged a sergeant. His father, John Erickson, died before Elias was born, and his mother died when he was only four years old. He has three sisters and one brother living.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Evans Sylvester Marshfield: Station agent for Wisconsin Central Railroad, Marshfield, was born in Skietz, Germany, June 4, 1857. John Evans, his father, moved to the United States and settled at Iron Ridge, Wis., April 1869. Sylvester Evans has been connected with the Wisconsin Central Railroad about four years, three years of which at Marshfield. He was married, June 13, 1878, to Miss Kate Hartz of Charleston, Mich. Have two children, Theresa and Mary.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Farrish Robert Grand Rapids: Merchant, Grand Rapids, was born in New Brunswick, in June, 1832. His father, William Farrish was of Scotch descent. William followed lumbering in New Brunswick until 1857, when he removed with his family to Grand Rapids, Wis., where he died June 21, 1868, at the age of seventy-four, leaving seven children--Elizabeth, Mrs Richards, who has since died at Grand Rapids; Jane, now Mrs McKay, of Stevens Point; Mary, now Mrs Swicher, of Wausau; Catherine, now Mrs Canning, of Grand Rapids; William, who is now engaged in lumbering in Anatone, Columbia Co., Washington Territory; John and Robert, of the firm Farrish & Bro., Grand Rapids. Robert came to Grand Rapids, December 1856, and engaged in logging and lumbering, also was clerk in a store for some time, and in 1876 formed a partnership with his bropthers, William and John, as dealers in hardware, dry goods and groceries. In 1878, William withdrew from the firm. Robert was married, December, 1863, to Miss Mary Ann Seeley, of Baraboo. They have four children, two of who are living. Robert was a Mason in new Brunswick, in 1856, and now belongs to the Chapter at Stevens Point. John was married to Miss Ellen McKay, of New Brunswick, Oct 22, 1874.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Feichtener John Altdorf: John Feichtener and his wife Mary Hollmiller came to Altdorf around the 1890's.
They had children; August, Edward, John Jr, Mary, Susan, Frank and Annie.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979
 
Ferguson George A. Grand Rapids: Mr Ferguson was born March 10, 1847, in New York State. Received an academic education, and a commercial one as well, besides learning the tinsmith trade. In July, 1865, with his brother, A.H., came to this state and engaged in the hardward business in Lima Center. At the end of five years went to Berlin and into business, and while there invested in cranberry marshes near Grand Rapids, working at his trade winters, at Winona and other places. In 1876 he removed to Grand Rapids. On the 11th of February, 1878, he was united in marriage with an estimable lady, Miss Jennie M. Gunn. They have one daughter, Blanche. In April, 1879, he went into the hardware business with J.N. Brundage. During the flodd of June 1880, on the 13th, while engaged in removing tools and goods from a part of the shop threatened to be submerged, some floating timbers struck the foundation, and that part went down, carrying him with it, His body was never recovered. He was thirty-three years of age at the time of his death, an Odd Fellow and a member of the Congregational Church. No man in town was more highly esteemed as an honorable and upright citizen, and his loss was deeply felt.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Fleming Edwin L. Auburndale: Clerk, son of O.S. and Lydia Fleming, was born in Lowell, Orleans County, Vt., February 22, 1859. He left there in 1873 and went to Qeubec, and from there to Cuba, thence to Australia, where he remained nearly two years, thence to Brazil and worked about six months on an India-rubber plantation, then to Florida and home to Vermont. He then went to Mexico and spent a year and afterward spent a year in Iowa. He came to Auburndale, November, 1880 and is clerking for R. Commor & Co. He was married in Vermont, July 3, 1878 to Miss Josephine Freeman. His father is a merchant, still living in Lowell, Vt.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Fontaine Paul and Albert Grand Rapids: Editors and proprietors of the "Wood County Reporter", published at Grand Rapids, Wisc., are sons of H.L. Fontaine, who was born in Lucerne, Switzerland, Oct, 1825, of french parents. In the spring of 1850 he married Miss Ernestine Milber,of Cmund, Wurtemburg, Germany, and immediately started for the United States, landing in New York, May 24, 1850. They proceeded thence to St. Louis, remaining there a few days, then settled in Highland, IL., where they remained about two years, then came to Grand Rapids, Wis., in the summer of 1852, where the family still resides. Six children were born to them--Ernest; Paul; Marie; Albert L. and Angelle. Full of patriotism for his adopted country, Mr Fontaine enlisted in Co. G, of the 12th Wis. V.I., and started for headquarters in February, 1864, where he continued in active service at the front, until the close of the war, but he was not permitted to return to his home, for he was taken sick in April, 1865, and on the 30th of the same month, died in hospital at Newburn, North Carolina.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Fraling Emil Altdorf: Emil Fraling came to Altdorf from Holland in 1883. He was a carpenter and helped finish the interior of the church. Around 1887 he and his family moved to Marshfield to follow his trade.
Emil and Theresa had children: Theodore (ordained 1907), Amalia, Joseph (ordained 1913, Msgr.), Alois and Bertha.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Garrison Frank Centralia: Merchant, son of Orestes and Viola (Sheldon) Garrison, was born in Greenwood, McHenry County, November 18, 1852. His father moved to Centralia, Wis., in December of 1854, and bought the mill property on the Centralia side of the river, since known as the "Garrison Mills", and engaged in the manufacture of lumber. He died Jun, 1875. Mrs G. is living with her son Frank. They had five children, three of whom are living--Charles B., Lewellyn O., Frank; Elma, Mrs S.S. Bensley, died in 1862, and Henry in 1863. Frank commenced business as merchant in 1875, and in Januarym 1879, took in Whittlesey as partner. He was married March 22, 1876 to Miss Celia Rossier, daughter of E.B. Rossier, of the Centralis "Enterprise". They have two children, Emil B, and Orestes. Mr G. has been Postmaster at Centralia five years, and also a member of the County Board.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Gaulke William Town of Grant: William Gaulke was born in Germany on October 1, 1848 and his father died when he was 14 weeks old. At the age of 11 years, his mother also died.
When he was 19, he decided to immigrate and arrived in Milwaukee. In 1876 he married Augusta Kruger and in 1878 he bought land in Portage County.
They had eight children; Henry, Mary, William, Minnie, Laura, Ella and John.
William died October 25, 1928 and Augusta died May 13, 1914.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are, Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Getts William H. Centralia: Painter, was born in Wilks Barre, June 11, 1845. The family moved to Lake View, near Oregon, Dane County, Wis., in 1847, where his parents still live. William H. enlisted in Co. H, 31st Wis. V.I., as private, in 1862, and was mustered out as corporal in July, 1865. His regiment went to Nashville and went with Sherman to the sea. He was disabled by the cars running off the track, July 17, 1864 near Kingston, Ga., by which accident he received a severe contusion of the back and chest, and his right leg was fractured; this laid him up in hospital until January, 1865, when he rejoined his regiment at Savannah. He came to Centralia in 1866 and engaged in painting. He was married June 11, 1870 to Miss Sarah M. Page of Armenia, Juneau County Wis. They have three children; Grace E., Minnie A., and Guy.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Getzinger Anton Altdorf: Anton Getzinger came from Austria in 1885. He lived in the town of Sigel for a time and later developed a farm in the town of Hansen. After his death in 1915, his wife, Catherine nee Taufner, moved to Wisconsin Rapids.
They had children; Fred, Emma, Carl, Mary, Anna, Henry, Matilda, John and Mabel.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Gieslar John Altdorf: John Gieslar came from Switzlerland and purchased land here in the town of Seneca in April 1884. The family lived across from the church where the present St. Joseph's Hall stands. Around 1903 they moved to the state of Washington.
Children: Josephine married Louis Wipfli and Elizabeth.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Glass Louis J. Marshfield: Attorney, was born at Charleston, Mass., February 20, 1846. His father, Peter Glass, moved to Wisconsin in 1857, and settled in Sheboygan County, where he still resides. Louis J., enlisted in the spring of 1862, in Co. G, 61st Ill. V.I. and received his discharge, August 20, 1865. He attended the Chicago Law School one year, and studied law with Frisbie & Weill, at West Bend. Was married August 24, 1868 to Miss Carnelia E. Trumbull of Monroe County, Wis. Have six children--Fred, Frank, Robert, Elmer, Laura and Marion. Moved to Neillsville, Clark Co., was appointed Clerk of Circuit Court of Clark County to fill a vacancy in 1875, and was elected to the same office for the years 1876-77. Commenced the practice of law in Marshfield, March 27, 1880. Have charge of the interests of the Fox and Wisconsin Immprovement Co., for the sale of their lands in Wood County and the southern portion of Marathon County.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Goldberg John Ludwig Town of Grant: John Ludwig Goldberg was born in Germany in 1847 and immigrated to the U.S. nine years later with his family. He married Minnie Knipple in 1875 and settled on land in Grand Rapids. They were blessed with nine children.
John Ludwig and Minnie were buried at Forest Hill cemetery.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Grignon Louis Port Edwards: River pilot and logger. Came to Grand Rapids in July 1848 and engaged in logging and running the river, which occupation he still follows. His father Charles Grignon, was born and brought up in Oshkosh. Louis Grignon was born in DePere, August 17, 1829; Lived there until 1843, then went to Iowa, remained there about five years, then came through Portage City, remaining there a short time, and then to Grand Rapids in 1848. Was married August 15, 1856 to Miss Catharine Maloney of Portage City. Have one child, George, who was born August 27, 1863.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Hamm John Grand Rapids: Merchant, was born in Hiddesheim, Prussia, May 1, 1837. His parents were also born there, the father in 1796 and the mother in 1798. The family emigrated to the United States in the summer of 1860, settling at Waukesha, Wis., in August of that year, and engaging in farming. Here the father died in 1876 and the mother in 1878. John spent the years, from five to fifteen years of age, in the schools of his native place, and from fifteen to twenty-three, was employed in one of the government offices. After his arrival in Waukesha, he spent the winter of 1860 in school, learning our language, and in the winter of 1862, attended one term at a commercial college in Milwaukee. He soon after commenced clerking for H. Pfeiffer of Richfield, Wis., and remained with him for nine years. He was married to Miss Barbara Thielmann, of Richfield, in 1871. They have four children--Maggie, Frank, Mary and Clara. Mr Hamm commenced in the mercantile business for himself, at Grand Rapids, in 1874, where he is engaged in the same business still.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Harkness O.F. Marshfield: Artesian well-driller, was born in Springfield, Bradford Co., Penn., June 10th, 1841. His father, George H. Harkness, moved to Wisconsin in 1847, and settled in Fond du Lac County, afterward moved to Royalton, Waupaca Co., where he died. O.F. enlisted in Co. B, 14th Wis. V., September 16, 1861; received his discharge, October 15, 1865. Was with Grant in the western department; was at the battle of Shiloh; at the second battle of Corinth. He was detailed as wagon-master in 1863, and continued in that position about eighteen months and was a while after detailed as chief division forage-master of the 17th Army Corps, which position he held the last twelve months he was in the army. After the war, he returned to Wisconsin and engaged in lumbering for about two years; then followed farming until 1873, when he commenced in the well-drilling business. He was married, March 5, 1866, to Miss Mary E. Kendrick of Appleton. They have three children--Frank, Fred and James. Mr. H. is at present Chairman of the Town Board of Marshfield.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Henke Ludwig Town of Grant: Ludwig and Henrietta (Gaulke) Henke were born in Germany and came to the U.S. in 1873, settling in Portage Co.
Ludwig died in March 1914, and Henrietta in October 1917. They had seven children; Bertha, Charles, Fred, William G., Louis, Amelia, and Amanda.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Hiles George Dexterville: Lumberman, was born in Oakland Co., Mich., in 1831. Came to Wisconsin in 1850 and settled in Baraboo. His first work was with Wood & Moore for $15.00 per month, near Baraboo. He then removed to Dexterville, Wood, Co., where he has since resided, following the lumber business. He has been Chairman of the town of Dexter for twenty years; is the present Chairman of the County Board of Supervisors. Was elected to the State Legislation in 1866. He has endured the hardships of an early pioneer life. By sobriety, honesty and fair dealing, he is now awarded with sufficient competency to carry himself and family comfortably through life. Has two sons and one daughter--James K.P. of Dexterville; Frank P., at Taylor, Jackson Co., and Phoebe, a widow.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Hiles Samuel Dexterville: Lumberman, came to Dexterville in 1850; started the first mill above Necedah--sash, water-power mill--Hiles & Searls. Searls soon went out of the firm. He was born in Oakland Co., Mich., October 8, 1827. As early as 1847, in company with his brother, George, he lumbered in Sauk County, on the Baraboo; then in 1849, on the Lemonweir, and soon after came to Dexterville. He was married, February 6, 1852 to Miss Harriet Seeley of Elkhorn, Wis., formerly of Connecticut. Have three children living--George Franklin; Alla Adelia and Clara Antus. He has been Town Treasurer and Assessor of Dexter, also Deputy Sheriff of Wood County two years. He and his brother George together have about three sections of cranberry marsh.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Hoersch Anton Marshfield: Furniture dealer, came to Marshfield, from Oshkosh, July of 1877. He was born at Polg, Rhine Province, May 11, 1846. He is a son of Mathias and Anna Maria Hoersch. He came to Detroit, Mich., July 1872; stayed there about six months, then came to Sherwood, Wis., and has also worked at Appleton, Menasha and Fond du Lac and Oshkosh, at his trade of cabinet maker, which was the trade of his father and his grandfather also. He was married, September 22, 1874 to Miss Margaret Best, of Sherwood. They have three boys--Mark, Joseph and John.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Houston Liston A. Dexterville: Farmer and hotel-keeper, Sec. 10, 22, 3 east, came to this place, two and one-half miles north of Dexterville, in 1856, and built the Hurlburt saw-mill and ran it awhile as superintendent. He was born in Lewes, Sussex Co., Del., May 20, 1815. His father, Thomas Houston, moved the next year into Ohio and settled near Zanesville; afterward moved into Licking County, and in 1828, into Deleware County. He learned the trade of carpenter in Deleware County, and worked in several places at his trade; then went to Mt Vernon, Ohio and worked as millwright and machinist. He was married October 28, 1849 to Miss Susan Kenmer of Circleville, Ohio. They have four children living--Emma, now Mrs Dodge of Medford, Taylor Co., Wis.; Anna, now Mrs W.T. Wheelock, of Medford; Charles, druggist at Pittsville; Thomas at home. Mr. Houston has been member of Town Board, Justice of the Peace, also Postmaster thirteen years, from 1862 to 1875, when the post-office was moved to Pittsville.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Huber Anton Altdorf: Anton Huber had a farm in Section 25 in the present town of Hansen. He and his wife, Helen Krimmer, moved here from Milwaukee sometime in 1886.
Children: Jacob, Josephine, Anton, John, Fred, Joseph, Anna, Katherine and Alphonse.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Huser Alois Altdorf: Alois Huser came to the United States in 1884 and moved to Altdorf in 1885. His father, Xavier Huser (Rosa Wirsch) was a merchant and Alois was a manager of a silk spinning factory in Switzerland.
He married Catherine Regli, daughter of Casper and Rosa Rigle. He cleared land for a large farm in the town of Seneca. Mr. Huser built one of the first silos in the county. He was also employed in logging and lumber industries. They came to this country from Altdorf, Switzerland.
Children: Rose, Louis, Joseph, Frank married Anna Wirtz, John J., Henry, Mary married Leo Ruesch, George married Emma Schilter, Casper, Carl, Anna, Anthony who died young and Margaret also died young.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Ingalls George E. Marshfield: News Office and restaurant, son of S.E. and Fanny Ingalls. Was born in Concord, Jefferson County, Wis., September 13, 1850. Commenced business at Unity, as head sawyer in a saw-mill; remained there five years, during which time, however, he spent a summer in Kansas; then came to Marshfield and was employed as clerk for Upham & Bro., for two years; then commenced his present business. He was married April 16, 1872 to Miss Jennie Gaston, of Concord, Wis.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Jackson Gilbert J. Centralia: Miller, was born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, May 4, 1843. Came to the United States in 1856 and settled in Deleware County, New York. Soon after the Rebellion broke out, he joined the 8th Independent N.Y. Battery, October 1861, and served during the War. Among other engagements, he was at the siege of Yorktowns of Williansburg and Fair Oaks, was before Petersburg and was engaged most of the time in the latter part of the war in raiding. After he was mustered out on July 6, 1865, he came to New York City and remained there about nine months; then came to Eureka,Wis., near Oshkosh in the spring of 1866 and engaged in various kinds of labor. Went into the steamboat business in the spring of 1869 on the Wolf and Fox rivers, under the name of the Wolf River Transportation Company, and continued this business about five years. Came to Centralia in March of 1874 and bought into the Centralia Flouring Mills, now owned by Coleman, Jackson & Co. Mr Jackson was married in 1867 to Miss Flora Dickinson, daughter of W.C. Dickinson of Eureka, Wis.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Jahren Louis C. Grand Rapids: Tailor, son of Christian Michaelson, was born at Ringsaker, Hedemarken, Norway, September 25th, 1849. He learned the tailor's trade in Norway and came to LaCrosse, Wis., May 9th, 1871, and worked at his trade at Rushford, near LaCrosse, and then at LaCrosse, and afterward at Winona for about six years; then came to Grand Rapids, September of 1879, and started a shop of his own. He was married December 4, 1874 to Miss Elizabeth Johnson of Winona. Their children are Gina E. and Carl O.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Jarvis Willett R. Dexterville: Hotel-keeper and merchant, came to Dexterville in the spring of 1857 and was in the employ of George Hiles as salesman and book-keeper, for six years. He then moved to Sauk County and engaged in raising hops for several years; moved back to Wood County in 1869 and started a ranch some ten miles below Dexterville, raising stock and keeping a hotel there until 1874, when he moved back to Dexterville and built the Jarvis House and store, which he still occupies. He was born in Norwalk, Conn., November 4, 1813. His father, Samuel, moved in 1820, into Jefferson County, N.Y. When about twenty years of age, he commenced teaching school, and taught seven years. Also engaged as clerk for a while, and at one time took a saw-mill at Watertown, Jefferson Co., N.Y., and engaged in lumbering; then came to Newport, Sauk Co., Wis., in 1855. He was married June 3, 1862 to Mrs. Leet, formerly Miss Anna Hiles. They have six children living--Nellie, Charles, Frank, Kittie, Daisie and Willett R. Jr. Mr Jarvis has held nearly all the different offices in the Town of Dexter.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Jones William T. Centralia: Merchant, was born in Geneva, Wis., November 21, 1856. His father, John Jones, moved to Madison, Wis., in 1869 where he still resides. He received a common and high school education in Madison. Came to Grand Rapids in 1872 and clerked for Spafford & Compton four years; then entered into a partnership with Spafford, where he remained until the spring of 1879, when he formed a partnership with L.M. Nash, in their present business of dealers in hardware, building material and agricultural machinery. Mr. Jones was married December 25, 1876 to Miss Carrie Compton, of Grand Rapids. They have one child, Della.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Keyes Alonzo Marshfield: Groceries, restaurant and fruit, was born in Virgil, Cortland Co., N.Y., November 5, 1829. Came to Waupun, Wis., in 1851; was employed at drilling wells for three years, also at other employment. Emlisted in the fall of 1863 in Co. A, 32nd Wis. V., was transferred to Co. A, of the 16th Regt., received his discharge July, 1865; was with Sherman on his march to the sea. In 1872 he went to Winneconne and worked on railroad; came to Marshfield in January 1877, for two years. The last two years, has been a dealer in groceries and fruits, in connection with restaurant. Was married, August 20, 1867 to Miss Maria Graves of Waupun. Have two children, George W. and Ada Belle.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Kingsbury John J. Auburndale: A son of Judge J.R. Kingsbury of Stevens Point, was born in Dexter, Me., March 20, 1852. He has been connected with his brother, Forest W., in business at Auburndale, Wis., since May of 1874. They are also dealers in a general stock of merchandise. Since their mill burned, they deal principally in lumber, hiring their logs sawed at other mills. John J. was married May 15, 1873 to Miss Alice C. Page, of Stevens Point. They have three children living--May, Arthur and Carl. Their first-born, Bessie, died at the age of four months.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Kingsbury Forest W. Auburndale: Lumberman and Merchant, was born in Dexter, Me., July 30, 1853. His father, J.R. Kingsbury, County Judge of Portage County, came to Stevens Point in 1860. Forest W. commenced business at Auburndale, in partnership with his brother John J., May 7, 1874, in the manufacture of shingles, staves, and heading, which business they continued until December, 1880, when their mill burned. Although they have not rebuilt, they are still engaged in lumbering; employing other mills for this purpose. Forest W. was married, December 24, 1877 to Miss Sarah Heigl of Neenah, Wis. They have one child, Grace.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Kirkland Frank S. Marshfield: Attorney. Joseph H. Kirkland came from Cleveland, Ohio in 1846, and settled at Sheboygan, Wis. He engaged in shipping and transportation. He modeled the famous steamer "Fountain City"; built and owned her, and to this day she is a pattern of beauty, and as a sea boat still plies from Buffalo to Chicago. He built the first grain elevator in Sheboygan, or in that part of the state. He also built the first plank road from Lake Michigan to Fond du Lac, and some time after, although a source of revenue, gave it to the county with the provision only that it be kept in order. He was the prinicipal actor and first president on the Sheboygan & Mississippi Railraod, the first Mayor of the city of Sheboygan and it was principally to his energy and influence that Sheboygan took such a start in public works. He was born in Utica, N.Y., March 30, 1818; was a graduate of Hamilton College. His father's family founded Kirkland Hall at Hamilton College. He had four children--Frank S., now attorney in Marshfield, Wi., Catharine, now Mrs. Thos. Hogan, of LaCross; Edith, now Mrs L.W. Pruss, of McGregor, Iowa, and Charles, still with his parents.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Knipple Ernest Town of Grant: 1864 was the year of beginnings. The beginning of the Township and The year Ernest began his homestead.
Ernest Knipple was born in Germany August 1, 1841 and came to the U.S. in 1864 and bought 40 Acres where he made his home.
He was married October 24, 1865 to Johannah Panter, who died July 4, 1894. They had children: Mary, now Mrs Frank Buss; Hattie, wife of Robert Hanneman; Emelia, wife of William Witt; Emil, Lizzie, Minnie, Sophia and Clara.
On November 12, 1897, Ernest married Ricca Gasel who was born in Germany June 19, 1855. They has one child Alvina.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Komatz Anton Altdorf: Anton Komatz came to the Altdorf area in the 1890's. He farmed in the community and had a wife Rosa and children, Rose, Anton, Andrew, Katherina, Mary, Helen, Louise and Olive.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Kundert Adam Altdorf: Adam Kundert came to Altdorf in 1898 from Glarus, Switzerland. He and his family lived on a farm in the community.
He and his wife, Mary Arnold, had Rose married N.J. Wirtz, Martha, Eva and Fred who married Marie Van Lysal.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Lusk Jacob Auburndale: Farmer and Justice of Peace, Section 28, P.O. Auburndale, was born in Brattleboro, Vt., Oct 13, 1840. His father, Peter Lusk, moved to Hastings County, Canada, in 1842. At eighteen years of age, he left home and entered the employ of A.S. Page & Co., of New York, cutting lumber in winter and exploring and surveying during the summer, in the pine lands of Canada, continuing in their employ some ten years. Then came to Bay City, Mich., and became a saleman in a dry goods store. From there, in the employ of Henry Hewitt of Neenah, he came into the northern peninsula of Michigan and explored for pine. Then spent one year, from April of 1874, to April 1875 on the Penoke Iron Range, exploring for iron mines for Hewitt; afterward exploring and locating lands for others along the line of the Wisconsin Central Railroad. He was married July 18, 1878 to Miss Margaret Colman of Boston, Mass., and settled on a farm at Auburndale. He is Justice of the Peace, Notary Public and Town Clerk.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Lutz Jacob Grand Rapids: Was born in Kork, Baden, Germany, January 6, 1840 and came to the United States in April, 1860 directly to Wisconsin, and lived with a brother on a farm in Almond, Portage County, Wisconsin, for about a year, then to Stevens Point and worked in the brewery for Frank Wahle for about three years, then in company with his brother Andrew; bought him out and has since run the brewery at Stevens Point, and in October of 1880 bought the brewery at Grand Rapids, which they have repaired. Andrew takes charge of the Stevens Point Brewery and Jacob the one at Grand Rapids.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Lyon Reuben C. Centralia: Retired, was born in Franklinville, Cattaraugus County, New York. He remained with his father, Jonathan H. Lyon, until about twenty-one years of age, when he took a trip west through Ohio, Indiana and Michigan. Came home and remained about a year, then went down the Allegheny and Ohio, and up the Mississippi to Galena, Ill. After tarrying there a few months, came to Grand Rapids, Wis., arriving May 16, 1846, and has lived here ever since. Here he engaged as carpenter and millwright for about two years, then in company with A.B. Sampson, built a saw-mill in 1849 and 1850, and ran it for some seven years; then sold it to T. Hurley. In 1861, bought the Whitney Mill on the Centralia side of the river and erected the first shingle and planing mill in this place, if not on the Wisconsin River. Sold out the planing mill in 1880. Mr. L. was one of the incorporators of the Wisconsin Valley Railroad, also a member of the construction company that built it. Was married January 14, 1849, to Miss Esther J. Hill, of Illinois. Have six children--Lydia, now Mrs I.T.Houston of Stevens Point; Theron; Clark; Reuben; Henrietta and Russel.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Mackinnon Falkland Centralia: Son of Capt. L.B. Mackinnon of English Royal Navy, who, while on a visit to Washington in 1849, made the acquaintance of Gov. Doty, who persuaded him to visit Wisconsin. They came to Cleveland and from there, on a government boat, came into Green Bay and together drove to Menasha, where the Governor had property on Doty's Island. The Governor secured a loan from the Captain, and in due time he was obliged to foreclose. The Captain lived here some time, returning to England occasionally, to look after his interests there. Being a non-resident, his property here suffered considerably and finally, the young man, Falkland, who was born May 19, 1849, near Richmond, Surry, England, came to America to care for his father's interests in 1873, remaining thirteen months. In August 1875, he came to this country with a commission to report as to the value of certain iton mines, which work was satisfactorily executed. In 1877, he was recalled to England by the sudden death of his father, at the age of fifty-nine. On his return, he became interested in the Menasha Wooden Ware Company. Was afterward in the lumber business in Wausau. Sold out there and came to Centralia in 1878, in the hardwood lumber business, where he still is. It is related that the first night, while stopping with Gon Doty on the island, the captain occupied the ground floor, with an open window, against which a large wooden tray was placed, to be upset if a bear should poke in his nose; and sure enough, a bear came and awoke the captain, who seized his gun and they had bear steak for breakfast the next morning.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Maurer Henry N. Marshfield: Stave Manufacturer, was born in Columbus, Ohio, November 23, 1851. He is a son of Nicholas and Elizabeth Maurer, who came some years before from Pennsylvania. His mother's maiden name was Elizabeth Richmond. About the time he reached his majority, Mr. Maurer became manager for Syme Bros., manufacturers of flour barrel staves and headings. He has recently become a partner, as well as manager, and in that capacity has come to Marshfield to superintend the erection of a new stave factory that Syme Bros. & Maurer are building at Marshfield.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
McCamley Peter Grand Rapids: Son of John and Catherine Turley McCamley. Was born in Kenosha, Wis., April 15, 1850. When about seven years of age, his father moved to Grand Rapids, Wis., and engaged in farming. In 1860, his father went to Idaho, leaving his family to carry on the farm. Here Peter remained until he was fourteen years of age, when he left the farm and worked at logging and lumbering, which he followed about ten years, then learned the wagonmaker's trade, at which he worked some three years. He was at this time, 1877, appointed Under Sheriff for two years, and in the fall of 1878, was elected Sheriff of Wood County. He was married, Oct. 29, 1879, to Miss Maggie Hannifin, of Centralia. He formed a co-partnership, Jan 1, 1881, with E.S. King, under the firm name of McCamley & King, and are dealing in shelf and heavy hardward, building material and farm implements.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
McElrea John Grand Rapids: Retired, son of Andrew and Vin W. McElrea. Was born in County Tyrone, Omach, Ireland, Feb. 8, 1820. Came to Galena, ILL., in 1837, and mined for lead at Galena, Platteville and Dodgeville some six years, then built the Four Mile House, near Galena, ILL., in 1834. He moved to Mill Creek in 1845, and engaged in the manufacture of lumber for about six years, then came to Grand Rapids and built the house he still lives in. He has followed teaming most of the time since he came here, until recently. He was married, Nov. 17, 1844, to Miss Ann Lipsey, of Galena, ILL.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Miner Albert C. Marshfield: Druggist, came to Marshfield from Keokuk, Iowa, in March of 1880 and bought out a small drug stock from C.H. Clark. He was born in Harrison, December 11, 1851, went to Keokuk in 1869 and engaged as clerk in a store. Was married February 21, 1878, to Miss Louisa Tebelman of Keokuk; have one child, Alice Louisa. In the fall of 1878, went to Omaha; remained over one year; then returned to Keokuk, thense to Marshfield, Wis. His father, Henry Miner, was a dealer in hardware and cutlery in Cincinnati, Ohio. He died October 17, 1871. His mother is still living at the old homestead.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Moore John F. Centralia: Carriage Manufacturer; was born in Rushville, Susquehanna Co., Pa., April 3, 1851, and lived there until January 1872, when his father, John L. Moore came to Centralia and bought a marsh of 400 acres and commenced preparing it for cranberry culture. Here he died Jan. 25, 1873. John F. engaged in blacksmithing at Centralia for about two years, when he returned to Pennsylvania and remained there until 1879, when he returned to Centralia and engaged in the business of carriage making and blacksmithing, which he still follows. He was married at Waverly, N.Y. April 26, 1878 to Miss Emma Hasbrouch of Centralia, Wis.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Morrill David P. Grand Rapids: Proprietor of tannery. Was born in Canaan, Essex County, Vermont, March 22, 1818. His father, Moses Morrill, was a farmer and for eighteen years represented his constituents in the Vermont Assembly. He also held the office of County Judge several years. His mother Mary Morrison Morrill is still living at Sauk Prairie at the advanced age of nintey-eight. David P. Morrill learned his trade of tanner and currier in Woburn, Mass., and in 1844 came to Wisconsin and engaged in the mercantile business at Sauk Prairie, which business he continued for about five years, then bought a farm which he carried on until 1861, when he moved to Grand Rapids, and bought an interest in the tannery of J. McGrath; remained in company with him about two years, then bought him out, and has since run the tannery himself. Mr Morrill was married to Miss Emeline C. Tabor, just before he moved West. She died about three months after, in July 1844. He was afterward married to Miss Sarah Pound, of Sauk Prairie in 1846. She died in August of 1854, leaving two children, one of whom is still living. Mr. M. married Miss Lydia Harlow of Concord, Me., Feb 4, 1856. Five children bless this marriage. Mr and Mrs Morrill are members of the Congregational Church.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Mosher Isaac L. Grand Rapids: Son of Jabez and Elizabeth Mosher. Was born at White Creek, Washington County, New York, Jan. 24, 1819 and resided there until he was about sixteen years of age, when his father removed to Livingston County, New York. Here he resided until the fall of 1844, following farming, when he came to Sauk County, Wisconsin. Here he followed lumbering for four years, coming to Grand Rapids in the fall of 1848, and entering the employ of the merchantile firm of Miner & Werner, as clerk for three years. At this time, they obtained their supplies and groceries at Galena and Freeport, a trip for a load of goods requiring some fourteen or fifteen days. The next three years he clerked for Rablin & Clinton of St. Louis, who, in addition to their stock of groceries and provisions, bought in large stock of ready-made clothing, the first ever bought here. In the winter of 1855-6, Mr. M. went into the merchantile business for himself, to which he added lumbering, in which business he remained until 1876. Merchants from this section first began getting goods at Milwaukee about the year 1856 or 1857. Mr. M. has filled various offices, among which are those of Justice of the Peace and County Judge. In 1876, he was elected Treasurer of Wood County, to which office he has been continuously re-elected since that time. Mr. M. was married in 1853, to Miss Olive Maria Moore of Grand Rapids. They have five children living--Antonette, Eva, Morton, Carson and Milton.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Nash Lawrence M. Centralia: Merchant, came to Centralia August 9, 1879 as a station agent on G.B.& M.R.R., and the next year had charge of the Wis. Valley R.R. depot at Centralia, which position he held until Jan. 15, 1881. In April of 1879, formed partnership with Wm. T. Jones in the hardware business. Mr. N. was born in Stoughton, Wis., Jan. 28, 1854. His father, Lawrence Nash, moved to Milwaukee and then to Granville, where he died. Mr. L.M. Nash was married, Sept. 25, 1877 to Miss Amelia Lefebore of Centralia. They have two children, Lawrence Eugene and Amilla Wm.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Nason Solomon L. Nasonville: Farmer and lumberman, Sec. 32, came to settle where he now resides, in August 1854. Was the first settler in the northwest part of Wood County. The nearest near neighbor was O'Neills, where is now Neilsville. "Our party consisted of self, two brothers and hired man." He was born in Standish, Cumberland Co., Maine, December 16, 1825. his father Solomon Nason, was a farmer and lumberman of Norman French ancestry. S.L. left home in the spring of 1849 and took passage for San Francisco; spent six months and twelve days in the journey around by Cape Horn. He traveled extensivly through California and Oregon, mined in several places, then engaged in buying cattle in southern California, driving them to the mines and selling them. Returned in June of 1853, via Nicaraga, to Maine. Came west the fall of the same year, and traveled in Minnesota and Iowa, then came to Wisconsin. In passing from Chippewa Falls to Stevens Point, he passed through the place where he now resides, found it heavily timbered with pine and hardwoods mixed, liked the soil and the timber and located about 5000 acres in this vicinity. Engaged at logging during the winter of 1853-4, about twenty miles south of here. Next year came here and built the first log-house, in which he lived two years, then built the first frame hosue here. Was appointed Postmaster in 1859, which office he held continuously until 1878. He was married June 19, 1864 to Miss Mellissa Rensse, of Clark County. She died June 7, 1876; leaving five children--Vernon U.; Stella J.; Adalaide E.; Grace L. and Vinton G. He married September 2, 1878, Miss Celia Rustad. Had by her one child, Gail L. He organized the town of Lincoln. Has been Chairman of Town Board, was County Commissioner under the old County Commission system, and was member of the State Legislature for the session of 1877-8. He was nominated by the Greenbackers. His nomination was endorsed by the Republicans and also by the Democrats, so was elected without opposition.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Norris R.J.S. Grand Rapids: Mr. Norris is an able Congregational clergyman, born in the English Channel, on the Isle of Wight, Dec. 4, 1844. He received an academic education and came to Canada, locating in Ontario. Having a decided taste for music, he early became a teacher of this art. He began a course of theological study, and not being very robust, he engaged as a traveling agent for a merchantile house. Having qualified himself, he preached several years in Canada, and then took charge in Rochester, N.Y., where,his health failing, he came west at the end of a year, on a vacation, and the Wisconsin air seeming to brace him up, he located in Milton, Rock County, in 1873 and since then has done considerable evangelical work, having organized several churches. In 1879 he was stationed as pastor of the Congregational Church in Grand Rapids, which charge he resigned in September, 1881, on account of failing health. Mr Norris has been a successful author, contributing to the current literature of the church, furnishing hymns and music. He was married October 10, 1870 to Miss Elizabeth A. Hurd. They have three sons and three daughters.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Pankow Hermann J. Marshfield: Photographer, came to Marshfield, June 4, 1879. He was born at Lebanon, Dodge County, Wis., April 27, 1847. His father came to Dodge Co., from Germany in 1843; he is now pastor of the German Lutheran Church in Lebanon. Herman was married November 8, 1875 to Miss Ottilie Schelpeper, of Addison, Washington Co., Wis. Have four children--Ella, Alma, Ottilie and Agnes. He has been a photographer since 1869. He built and owns the Central Hotel, and ran it about two years. he is a member of the Marshfield Brass Band.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Panter Adolph Town of Grant: Adolph was born in Germany and was 16 years old when his parents came to the U.S.
He married Mary Timm and they had nine children, Henry, Fred, Louis, Charles, William, Alfred, Martin, Edward, and Laura.
Adolph died March 9, 1911 and Mary died May 17, 1917.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Paterick John Grand Rapids: Farmer and milk dealer, was born in Oneida County, New York, November 16, 1825. In 1845 he came to Walworth County, Wisconsin where he resided some five years, then took charge of the Marsh House, between Portage and Grand Rapids. At this time there were but three hotels betwen Portage and Grand Rapids--The Walworth House, the Marsh House and the McCartney House. In 1857 he went to Marquette County, and then to Stevens Point and then in 1874, came to Grand Rapids, where he still resides. He was married October 1, 1859, to Miss Sarah Fryer of Otsego County New York. They have two children living, Lena M. and Elmer R.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Pattee Joseph R. Saaratoga: Joseph R. Pattee was one of the first settlers, along with his wife, Mary Jane (Abbott). He was born August 1, 1828 in Gottstown, Hillsborough, NH and died January 12, 1891 in Stockton Township, Portage County, WI.
He was married March 16, 1852 and in the fall of that year, came to Wisconsin. His wife died while he was serving in the Civil War, and on June 27, 1867 he married Elizabeth J. Barker of Grand Rapids.
Joseph operated a sawmmill on Ten Mile Creek until selling the property in 1868 and moving to Portage County, where he worked as a Railroad Engineer.
Joseph had eight children with Mary; Etta Malvina, William, Alma Jane, Ida Orlette, Sarah Frances, Frank Gilman and twins. The twins died soon after birth and are buried in the Pattee cemetery in the Town of Saratoga, along with sisters Sarah Frances and Ida Orlette.
Joseph and second wife Elizabeth had three more daughters; Mamie (Mary), Edith and Alice.
Source: Saratoga Sands by Rhonda Whetstone
 
Peeso Wm. A. Centralia: Dentist, was born at Rooseboom, Otsego County, New York, Jun. 1, 1846. Resided there until 1868 when he came to Centralia, Wis. He was graduated at Cherry Valley Academy, then learned the profession of dentistry at White Creek, Wis., and has been practicing in Centralia since. He was married to Miss Celia M. Hughes, of Centralia, Sept. 9, 1874. Have two children--Cedric and Louis.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Pelow C.A. Pittsville: C.A. Pelow came to Pittsville in January of 1898 when he was only 19 years old. Born and raised in Necedah, Wisconsin, he operated a barbershop in Hancock for one year. In coming to Pittsville, he bought the barbershop owned by John Lanford. This shop was located south of where the drug store now stands. In later years, Pelow moved his O.K Barbershop east of the Heuer and Werner Hardware store on Main Street. His son, Ralph took over the business in 1940. C.A. Pelow passed away in 1954.
Source: Yellow River Pioneers
 
Pitts Luke W. Pittsville: Farmer, lumberman and hotel keeper, came West with his parents in 1858 and has lived here at Pittsville ever since. His father Luke Noble Pitts, was born November 8, 1808 and died at Pittsville, March 27, 1874. His mother Louisa, died April 3, 1871. His brother Oliver W. was born January 10, 1831 and died March 12, 1879 at Eau Claire, Wis. Luke W. was born April 1, 1849 in Springfield. Bradford Co., Pa. In company with his brother, he built a shingle-mill which he ran for several years, then sold it to A.J. Webster & Co., of Menasha, who turned it into a hub and spoke factory. He built the hotel he now runs, in 1876. He is also engaged in farming and lumbering. He finds time to shoulder his gun occasionally, as his father did before him, and he has the reputation of being a very successful hunter. He was married, May 24, 1874 to Miss Mary E. Reed, of Necedah, Wis. They have three children living--Luke Noble; Frank Homer and Leroy Burdette.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Pitts Thomas Woolcott Pittsville: Lumber manufacturer, came here with his parents in 1858. His brother Oliver, came in 1856 and ran a saw-mill about two years, and his being here was the means of the family coming here to live. His father soon after bought the mill property and considerable land in the vicinity. The only persons living here when they came were Oliver Pitts and wife; Wallace Potter; William Baker and Elijah Vroom. J.Q. Severn had resided here several years, but had gone away and had not returned, and Mr. L.A. Houston lived some three mmiles south. Thomas W. was born in Springfield, Bradford Co., Pa., February 17, 1844. He taught the first school ever taught in the Town of Wood, in 1859. Thomas, John and Oliver enlisted in the Army. John was wounded in a battle near Chancellorville, from the effects of which he died soon after, in the hospital. He was in the Iron Brigade: Thomas and Oliver in the 18th Wis., Co. G. Thomas W. was married November, 1867 to Miss Susie M. Edic, formerly of Waukegan, Ill. They have five children--Byron P.; Perley B.; Thomas M.; Fred E. and Jesse A. He owns a large farm, also village lots of Pittsville yet unsold, in addition to mill property and timber lands. He has been Town Clerk, and is Justice of the Peace, Notary Public and has been Postmaster since 1877.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Powers Levi P. Grand Rapids: Was born in Marshfield, Vermont, May 9, 1828. His father removed soon after to Cabot, where he lived with his father until he was twenty-one years of age. He attended the common school of his town and then the Caledonia Grammar School of Peacham, VT., and afterward the Peoples' Academy at Morrisville, VT. Mr. Powers came to Grand Rapids, Wisconsin in 1853, and engaged in logging for about a year. Had read law as he had opportunity, and had practiced some before in Justices' courts and was admitted to the Bar in Portage County in 1855. Has practiced here ever since. Mr Powers was married to Miss Elizabeth Dickinson of Janesville, in 1870. He Held various town offices; Has been County Clerk nine years, County Judge eight years, member of the Assembly for the term 1862-3 and United States Marshall in 1860. When Mr. Powers came here, all of Wood County belonged to Portage County, and constituted the township of Grand Rapids. It contained about 1000 inhabitants, over one-half of whom were young men who shaved shingles from Government timber, which was considered free to all at that time. The Government surveyed a strip of land three miles wide on each side of the Wisconsin River, beginning about three miles below here and extending as far up as Wausau, which came into market in 1840, and was mostly sold to those who wished to build mills and engage in lumbering. The rest of the land did not come into market until 1851, and not much was sold until 1856, and afterward. When Mr. Powers came here, there were three saw-mills near here--two with one upright saw each, and one (Rablins) with two upright saws. Mr. D. Whitney of Green Bay, built the first saw-mill on the Wisconsin River in 1836, about nine miles below here, who got a permit before the Indian Titles had been extinguished. He brought all his supplies from Green Bay, boating up the Fox to Portage and up the Wisconsin. There was no church in Grand Rapids. Mr Powers started a Sunday-school and was its superintendent one summer--the first ever held here.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Powers M.J. Marshfield: General Superintendent of Henry Sherry's steam saw-mill, near Marshfield, was born in Clinton County, N.Y., March 20, 1843. He is a son of David and Ellen (Harney) Powers, farmers, still living in Clinton Co. N.Y. He came to Neenah, Wis., in 1864 and engaged in lumbering for Armstrong of Neenah, and worked for him four years. Since 1868, has been in the service of his present employer.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Raasch Gottlieb Town of Grant: Gottlieb Raasch and his three children left home in Drosedow, Pomerania, Germany in the year 1870 for the U.S. Gottlieb's wife had already died and he had no wish to fight in yet another War.
He was born December 18, 1825 the son of Martin and Maria (Henke) Raasch. He had been married to Friederike Schreiber with three children, Theodor August Born March 2, 1858; Franz Gottlieb Born November 18, 1860; and Bertha Wilhelmine Born August 17, 1867.
Gottlieb later married Louise Timm in August 20, 1871, after arriving in Town of Grant.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author Dorothy Raasch.
 
Remington H.W. Marshfield: His parents were New Englanders; father being a descendant of the Turkey Hills Remingtons, of Connecticut; his mother's maiden name was Matilda Williams, a descendant of the Rhode Island Williamses; her father, emigrating from Rhode Island to Berkshire County, Mass., where they were married. They left Washington Mountain, Mass., in January of 1822, for Ohio, moving all the way with an ox team on a sled, and ended their journey at town no. 4(now Pittsfield), Loraine Co., Ohio, in March the following, cutting their own road through dense forest for the last six miles to get there; being the first family to settle in that town. This was the place where W.H. was born, on the 9th of August, 1823, being the first white child born in that town; his recollections of his first years of life were of Indians, wolves and wild woods' life.---He was admitted to the Bar, was a land Surveyor, and an advocate for the Railroads.

He has now a family of a wife and one child with him (a boy fourteen years old). Has one son and two daughters married and in active life. His father is living at eighty-six years old; his mother has just passed away at eighty-two. He has two brothers and two sisters living.--

This is a much abreviated account. The whole article is available in the Wood County Chapter of the 1881 Northern Wisconsin History.
 
Renne Edward S. Marshfield: Postmaster and druggist, was born near Potsdam, St. Lawrence Co., N.Y., 27th June, 1855. His father, Henry Renne, moved to the town of York, Clark Co., Wis., in 1861, where he died in 1864. He had no facilities for an education, as he lived on the frontier. He was employed as clerk in a store and post-office at Nasonville some time; then came to Marshfield in March of 1877; and in July of the same year was appointed Postmaster at Marshfield, which office he still holds. He also keeps a stock of drugs and groceries. He was married October 1, 1876, to Miss Lottie A. Parkill, of Keene, Wis. Have had three children, only one of which, Della, is living. Mr. Renne is Chairman of the Town Board.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Reynolds Lewis Auburndale: Firm of R. Connor & Co., Marshfield, son of Alfred H. and Ann Reynolds, was born in North East Hope, Perth County, Canada West, December 17, 1853. Lived there until 1865, when his father moved to Brandon, Iowa. In 1874, he graduated at Bayliss Commercial College, at Dubuque, Iowa. In 1875, came to Auburndale as agent at the depot, then connected with the firm of R. Connor & Co., principally engaged in the company's store. Has been Town Clerk of Auburndale, and is now Justice of the Peace.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Rickman Christ Town of Grant: Christ was born in Germany August 21, 1861 and when he was eight his parents John and Sophia (Timm) Rickman immigrated and settled in Town of Grant. His father died in 1888 and his mother in 1897.
In 1886 Christ married Amelia Hanneman who was born in Germany August 7, 1865, daughter of August and Augusta Hanneman.
The couple had 12 children; Minnie, Emma, William, George, Edward and Eleanor (twins),Annie, Esther, John, Mamie, Edna and Elmer. Christ died in 1950 and Amelia in 1935.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Rossier E.B. Centralia: Editor of the "Enterprise", was born at Vevay, near Geneva, Switzerland, Dec. 2, 1832. He came to the United States in 1851 and settled in Madison County, Ill. and followed farming there until 1858. Came to Centralia and engaged in merchantile business for the first twelve years, and then became cashier of the bank of Grand Rapids in 1870, and so continued three years. Was superintendant of construction of the Wis. Valley R.R. and for the past two years, editor and publisher of the 'enterprise', a Greenback paper, and is also a member of the law firm of Rossier & Baker. Was Chairman of Board of Supervisors, Wood County, for 1877 and 1878. Has been Postmaster at Centralia about ten years, and City Clerk. Mr R. was married November 3, 1853, to Miss Caroline Mennet of St. Louis. Have four children--Celia, now Mrs Frank Garrison; Alfred; Edmond and Emiele.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Rost/Ross Frederick A. Saratoga: Frederick A. Rost married Maria Elizabeth Fehmerling while still in Germany and their oldest child was born after they arrived in New York. They were in Saratoga before 1860, along with some of Maria's family.
Frederick was born April 25, 1825 in Greven, Lubz, Meckeinberg, Germany and died November 26, 1894.
Frederick and his family settled on land along the east side of the Wisconsin River just south of Nekoosa. Somewhere early on, the name was anglicized to Ross.
There was a slough on the property where the neighbors congregated for fishing, swimming and winter skating parties, which in later years would be turned into a park with camp sites and trailer parking.
American Indian Burial Mounds on the property have been cataloged and preserved by archeologists in 1931.
The land for the first school in the area was donated by Frederick Ross after flood danger forced them to move the school from the Elliot property.
Children of the couple were Harmon E., William John, Mary M., Emma, Frank Eugene and Walter Daniel.
Source: Saratoga Sands by Rhonda Whetstone
 
Ruesch Fred Altdorf: Fred Ruesch was born in Milwaukee in 1846. He had a farm in town of Hansen. He was also a shoemaker and sold shoes in a shop in what is now Wisconsin Rapids. He was a Civil War veteran,in Company I, 9th Illinois Cavalry.
Fred was married to Katharine Hablewitz and had children: Leo married Mary Huser, Edward, Mathilda, Mary Constance, Anna, Clara, Mary Frances married George Steiner and Catherine married Edwin Marx.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Ruesch Leo Altdorf: Leo Ruesch was a retired shoemaker when he came to the town of Seneca in 1879. He came to Milwaukeee in 1845 from Baden, Germany. It was in his home where the first mass was celebrated.
His first wife, Anna Marie Dornburg, was the mother of Katherine and Fred who married Katharine Hablewitz. His second wife, Katharina, was the mother of Rosa Schlig.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Rumanoff Joseph Marshfield: Hardware merchant, came to Marshfield in August of 1877, from Sherwood. Was born in Kreutzler, Germany, October 5, 1848. He is a son of George and Kathatina Rumanoff; is a carpenter by trade. He came to Wisconsin in 1866. Lived a year at Hollandtown, Calumet Co., then went ot Green Bay; then lived four years in Vinland, Winnebago Co.; then to Sherwood. Commenced in the hardward business at Auburndale, in April of 1877, and in August of the same year came to Marshfield. Was married in February of 1872, to Miss Magdalena Brandmeyer of Sherwood. They have four children--Andrew, Christiana, Maggie and Frank.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Russell John H. Marshfield: Engineer, was born in Canada, February 1, 1833. In 1834, his father moved to Clarence Hollow, Erie Co., N.Y., where they lived until 1845, when they moved to Westfield, Chautauqua, Co., N.Y. Then to Milton, Rock Co., Wis., in 1848. Lived there three years; then moved to Dakato, Waushara Co. At the age of twenty-three, he learned engineering. Has followed this business at Madison and Milwaukee. In 1877, he went to farming in Clark County, which he followed four years, and in the fall of 1880 came to Marshfield as engineer for Upham & Bro. He was married April 2, 1858, to Miss Mary Ann Reifsnider. They have seven children--Fred, Mary, John, Hilda, Jessie, Vincie and Neva.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Schilter Joseph Altdorf: Joseph and his wife Henrietta Wipfli, were both born in Seedorf, Switzerland. They were married in Altdorf, WI. in a double ceremony with Sophie Wipfli and Frank Wuersch. Joseph worked on a cranberry Marsh.
Children: Anton, Emma married George Huser, Sophie, Victoria, Evelyn and Dominic.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Schilter Anton Altdorf: Anton Schilter came from Switzerland in 1886 and worked for awhile at the sawmill in Vesper. He owned the farm directly south of the Church.
Anton married Caroline Nauger and had children, Katie, Anna, Anton F., Emma married Anton Wipfli, John married Loretta Wipfli, Jost and Rose.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979
 
Schilter Frank Altdorf: Frank Schilter was married to Mary Steiner January 21, 1885. They lived on a farm east of the Church until 1898.
Children: Mary, Aggie and Joseph. Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Schlig Hubert Altdorf: Hubert Schlig was from Bohemia and came to town of Seneca in 1878. He and his wife Rosa, donated the land for the Church in January of 1882. He is listed as the "Proprietor of a General Store" and was Postmaster for Altdorf when it was opened in February of 1886.
Children of Hubert and Rosa were Kate, Mary, Mathew, Susan married Frank Wipfli, Tillie and Angeline.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Schmidt Ernest G. Marshfield: Came to Marshfield in the spring of 1880; is a dealer in general merchandise. He was born in Saxony, May 18, 1835. Came to the United States in 1860. Came to Port Huron, Mich, thense to Milwaukee. Remained there ten years, then went to White River, Mich; then came to Marshfield, Wis. He was married in 1867, to Miss Catherine Dornhardt, of Milwaukee. Has six children--Henry, Rosa, Katie, Joseph, Ernestine and Ernest. Has been engaged most of the time in Merchantile business. Kept a hotel part of the time while in Michigan.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Schneider Charles Marshfield: M.D., Physician and Surgeon, Was born at Vargenten, in Mecklenburg, Schwerin, October 4, 1845. He is a son of August and Mary (Schmidt) Schneider, who are still living in the old country. He attended the public schools of his native town, then for a while the university at Berlin. Served four years in the hospital service in the army, then at a school in Rosstock, after which he studied and practiced medicine with Dr. Schenen of the city of Magin. He came to the United States in 1873, and located in the city of New York, then into the country near there, and in 1876, came to Milwaukee, lived there about two years, then to Delafield, Waukesha Co., and to Longwood, Clark Co, and in June of 1880, to Marshfield. He was married October 15, 1880 to Miss Demarest Lumbert of Marshfield.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Scofield William S. Centralia: Fruit and Restaurant Owner, was born in Laurens, Otsego County, New York, March 9, 1848. His father, David Scofield, a farmer, moved to Friendship, Adams Co., Wis., in 1857, and remained there four years, then went back to Otsego County. Wm. S. came to Baraboo, Wis., in August 1868, whither his parents followed the next year. While at Baraboo he followed painting and was most of the time in charge of the painting department of the Madison Division of the C.& N. W. R.R. In 1876 he moved to Portage, where, after one year, on account of ill health, he was obliged to quit painting, and then he went to his father's farm at Friendship. He came, in 1879, to Centralia, and opened a fruit store and restaurant. He was married, May 5, 1873 to Miss J. Alleda Sharpe. They have one child, Frank S. He has been Town Clerk and is a member of the I.O.O.F.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Scott Hon. Thomas B. Grand Rapids: Born in Scotland in 1829, came to America with his father and mother in 1839 and settled in New York; has had but a common school education. Removed to Columbia County, Wis., in 1848, where he engaged in merchantile and lumber business intil 1851; then removed to Grand Rapids, where since resided; first engaged in manufacturing lumber there in 1855, since time he has almost exclusively engaged in that business. For ten years previous to 1877, did an immense business, having yards in Dubuque, Iowa, and St. Louis, MO. In 1870 became interested in the saw-mill, run by water-power, at Merrill and is now owner entire; manufactures 10,000,000 per year. Is head of the firm of T.B. Scott & Son, merchants and member of the firm of Ross, McCord & Co., bankers of Merrill. Mr. Scott married in Grand Rapids, in December of 1853, Miss Ann Eliza Neeves, daughter of George and Mary Neeves; children--Cassia M., aged twenty-four, Walter A., aged twenty-two and Thomas B., Jr., aged eighteen, all living. Mr. S. held the postion of County Treasurer of Wood County two terms, and County Clerk of the same county one term. Is now, and has been since January 1, 1874, State Senator; term expires Jan 1, 1883. Has always been leader in Republican party since organization.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Severns James Quick Pittsville: Surveyor and land agent, was born near Ovid, Seneca County, N.Y., October 12, 1825. His father moved in 1826 to Cuyahoga Co., Ohio, and in 1835 to Watkins Grove, Will Co., Ill., and in 1839 to Rock Island. J.Q. left home in 1842; worked at cabinet work and as millwright until in 1845 he commenced surveying at the land aagency in Henry Co., Ill., which business, together with acting as land agent, he has chiefly followed ever since. In 1847 he came to Sauk Co., Wis., near Kilbourn City (Wisconsin Dells now)and June 15, 1848, married Miss Susan Washburn of Baraboo. In the fall of 1850, he came to Wood Township, Wood Co., and settled near where he now resides. He was the first settler in the township and his wife, the first white woman in the town. In 1851, he built the first saw-mill in the town, the "Pitts Mill", for C.D.Newbury, who left however, before the mill was finished, and it passed into the hands of Daniel T. Bunker, who finished it and sold it to Miller & Avery, and they to B.N. Pitts. Mr. Severns enlisted twice in 1862, but was rejected both times (in the 4th and the 16th Regiments) and in 1864, enlisted in the 37th, Co. G.; and was accepted; arriving at Petersburg July 7; was at the "explosion of the mine", on the 30th, and was wounded that day in five places, only one wound being serious, that on the shoulder laid him up two months, but he was back in time for the fight at Poplar Grove, and continued in active service until the close of the war. Mr .and Mrs. S. have eleven children, five boys and six girls, also seven grand children. He has held most of the town offices, among which are those of Town Clerk and member of the Board several terms, and has now been Justice of the Peace about thirteen years consecutively.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Smith Charles E. Marshfield: Filer and machinist, was born in Wrightstown, Brown Co., Wis., February 9, 1858. His father, Barber Smith, came from Franklin Co., N.Y. about 1856. They moved to Kaukauna, Outagamie Co., in 1868, then to Milladore, Wood Co., where they own and operate a stave, shingle and lath mill. Charles E. moved to Marshfield in September of 1880, is a filer and machinist by trade. He was married in 1879 to Miss Lottie Snider of Granville, Milwaukee Co., Wis. They have one child, Elmer.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Smith Charles S. Marshfield: Foreman for Upham Bros., has been at Marshfield since May of 1878. He was born in Lexington, Mass., March 17, 1822, left Massachusetts in 1848, and came to Milwaukee; is a mason by trade, at which he worked until 1855, when he went to Branch, Manitowoc County, as a foreman in a saw-mill, remained there eight years, then went three miles above there, and bought a shingle and saw-mill, which he ran for about two years, then went to Glenmore, Brown Co., and in October of 1871, went to Angelica, Shawano Co., built a saw-mill there, and in 1878 came to Marshfield. He was married in May of 1845 to Miss Caroline Wright of Cambridge, Mass. Have three children--Sumner C., now in Denver, Col., Austin and Justain.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Smith Marvin Marshfield: Engineer, was born in Ephratah, Fulton Co., N.Y., October 13, 1839. About 1851, the family moved to Farmington, Jefferson Co., Wis., worked on the farm until the age of fifteen, when he learned to be an engineer, which occupation he has ever since followed; at Farmington four years, at Watertown two years, Waupaca six years, and on the Fox and Wolf Rivers, at Winneconne, from 1870 to 1876, at Little Eau Plaine two years, and since then at Marshfield. Was married November 14, 1861 to Miss Augusta Vanduzee of Waupaca, Wis.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Sprague Edward J. Marshfield: Salesman, was born at Two Rivers, Wis., February 16, 1849. His father, James M. Spague, was engaged in Lumbering there. The family removed to Racine in 1860, but continued the business in Two Rivers. Edward received his education at Racine; was in the employ of the railroad about four years, then went to Angelica, Shawano Co., as salesman for C.M. Upham & Bros., has remained with them ever since. Removed to Marshfield, when they transferred their business from Angelica to Marshfield. He was married August 14, 1878 to Miss Louisa Heine of Stockbridge, Wis. Have one child, Earl.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Steiner Martin Altdorf: Martin Steiner was the oldest resident of the parish, coming here in 1877. He was originally from Alpthal, Switzerland. He farmed and cut logs; some of the logs were made into hand hewn railroad ties. After his death in 1892 the family moved from here.
Martin and his wife Anna Maria Waldvogle had the following children: John married Mary Taufner, Frank Martin married Victoria Withalm, August married Josephine Wipfli, Melchoir, Joseph, George, Mary married Frank Schilter, Olivia, Antoine, Jacob, Josephine Bertha and Anna.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Steinke Charles Town of Grant: Charles Steinke was born in Milwaukee on December 22, 1874, to German born parents. In 1881 the family came to Portage County.
On October 12, 1898 Charles married Martha Knuth who was born in Germany May 2, 1881 and came to America with her parents, Charles and Tina (Kauth) Knuth in 1883.
The family was blessed with eight children; John, Archie, Della, Lydia, Louise, Carl, William and Helena.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Syms Peter P. Auburndale: Farmer and Logger, was born in Berthier, Lower Canada, July 15, 1839. Went to live at Belleville, Hastings County, Canada, in June 1856. Left there in the winter off 1865 and came to Stevens Point, Wis. In 1874, went to California, Oregon, Puget Sound and British Columbia. Returned early in 1876 and settled, in the summer of 1876, in Auburndale. He was married January 12, 1864, to Miss Britania Ellis, of Belleville, Canada. They have seven children--Margaret I., now Mrs Wolcott of Marshfield; Martha Ann, now Mrs C.W. Dean of Auburndale; Charles; Minnie; Philemon; Henry L. and Frank. He is a Justice of the Peace and School Clerk and has been Town Clerk.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Talmadge Vroom Grand Rapids: Contractor and builder, was born in Morris County, New Jersey, in 1829; learned the trade of wheelwright at seventeen years of age, and was for some years in wheelwrighting business in company with his father, Elias C. Talmadge. He came to Grand Rapids, Wisconsin in 1855, and for past twenty years has been engaged building mills, elevators, etc., in different states; has been for the past four years in the employ of the Chase Elevator Co., of Chicago, Ill., as superintendent of the building of elevators, etc.; has since May, 1881 been engaged superintending the building of the Omaha Union Elevator, "B" at Omaha, Neb. Mr. Talmadge was married in Morris, NJ. in 1852 to Miss Elizabeth Davenport, native of that place. They have two children--Francis, foreman for his father, and Ellis, superintendent of planing mill at Grand Rapids.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Talmadge Ellis C. Grand Rapids: Engineer and millwright, son of Vroom Talmadge, was born in Grand Rapids, March 1, 1858. His father is engaged principally in building grain elevators in cities. Ellis C. is an engineer and millwright by profession. He was married July 9, 1879 to Miss Laura Bottsford of Dubuque, Iowa.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Tarbox Byron R. Pittsville: Farmer and blacksmith, Sec. 15,23,3 east. A clearing was commenced on the farm on which Mr. Tarbox resides in 1854, for T. Weston & Co. The Octagon mill, just below here, was built by Williams & Bro. in 1852, and Mr. Tarbox came here about that time to work at the mill, although he did not settle down on the farm he now lives on until May of 1870. His father, Roswell B., a lumberman, came to Wisconsin in 1849 and the next year moved his family to Quincy, Adams Co., Wis., via Milwaukee and Portage. Here he died, March 24, 1851. His mother also died at the same place, July 17, 1872. Byron R. Tarbox was born in Edinburgh, Penobscot Co., Me., June 21, 1838. He and his brother, C.D. Tarbox, enlisted in Co. D, 4th Wis. V., May 17, 1861; was in the 19th Army Corps, department of the Gulf. Was at the siege of Port Hudson and at Baton Rouge, and many others. Mr. T. was married, March 1869, to Miss Eliza Bullis. They have two children living, Mary E. and Robert Owen.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Tibbits Frank L. Grand Rapids: Superintendent of lumber yard at Wharton's Mills, Grand Rapids. Was born in the province of New Brunswick, September 18, 1848. His father was one of the first settlers on the St. Johns River some fifty years ago; was a farmer and also carried on a tannery, was for some years a Custom House officer for goods brought up the St. Johns River. He died at the age of seventy-two, leaving seven children living, only two of whom are in Wisconsin. Mary, now Mrs. J.W. Cameron, and Frank L., who came here in October 1877, and engaged in his present business. He was married, December 18, 1867 to Miss Charlotte Street. They have four children--Frederick, Page, Heber and Edith Maude.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Timm Joachim Town of Grant: Joachim Timm was born on February 6, 1833 in Mecklenburg, Germany. He married Louise Maria Schultz on September 15, 1864. Maria was born on June 19, 1845 and came to the U.S. with her Father Daniel in 1864. Joachim and Maria had eleven children: Frank, William, Albert, Otto, Edward, Martha, Arnold, Maria, Helmuth, Herman and Andrew.
Source: From Where They Came to Where We Are. Author, Dorothy Raasch.
 
Tuttle James M. Auburndale: Farmer and Lumberman, came to Auburndale in May, 1875. He was born at Erie, Pa., Oct. 11, 1834. He left there in 1855 and came to Portage County, Wis. Worked about five years at logging and on the river, then engaged in the manufacture of lumber and shingles in Marathon County. In 1861, he went to farming in Portage County, which he followed two years; then was employed as foreman in lumbering camps until he came to Auburndale. He was married in September, 1871 to Miss Emma Bowman of Marathon City. They have four children--Maria Theresa, Josephine, Mary Maria and Anna Catherine. Mr. T. has been Assessor of Auburndale, and is now Chairman of Town Board.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Upham William H. Marshfield: Lumberman, was born in Westminster, Mass., May 3, 1842. After the death of his father, Alvin Upham, the family moved, in 1851, to Racine, Wis. His mother died in 1878. He received his common and high school education at Racine. In April of 1861, he enlisted in Co. F, of the 2nd Wis. I.; was badly wounded (shot through the left lung) at the first battle of Bull Run, July 21, 1861; was taken prisoner and confined in the old tabacco-factory prison in Richmond, until March of 1862, the week of the "Moniter fight". He was appointed by Pres. Lincoln, in June, a cadet to West Point. He was graduated in the class of 1866. Was Officer of the guard over Jeff. Davis, while prisoner at Fortress Monroe, and received the appointment of first Lietenant of Artillery. He resigned his position in the army in November of 1869, and soon after went to Kewaunee, Wis., where he remained about a year; then in partnership with his brother, C.M. Upham, engaged in the manufacture of lumber at Angelica, Shawano Co., Wis. There this firm continued in business until in 1878, when they bought lands and built mills and a store, and transferred their business to Marshfield. Mr. W. H. Upham was married December 19, 1867 to Miss Mary C. Kelly, daughter of James H. Kelly, Esq., of Racine. They have two children, Elsie and Carrie. Mr. Upham is one of the corporators and the business manager of the proposed Neilsville & Marshfield Railroad. He has furnished a room and started a public library and reading room. This library has been largely increased by a donation of books from Mr. J.J. Marsh of Haverhill, Mass., for whom the town is named.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Viertel Albert Altdorf: Albert Viertel came to Altdorf about 1890. He lived on and managed Elm Lake Cranberry Company from 1901 to 1915.
He and his wife, Mary Wipfli had children; Herman, Edward, George, Carl, Josephine married Edward Locey, Nathalie and Albert.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Vollmar Fred. Marshfield: Member of the firm of Dorschel & Co., general merchandise, came to Marshfield from Chilton, Wis., and commenced business here, October 25, 1880. He was born in Waterloo County, Canada, March 11, 1857. He is a son of Peter and Catherine (Kumpf) Vollmar, who came from the Phine Provinces to Canada. They still live in Canada. He came to "the states", July 6, 1876 and was in the employ of Mr. Dorschel of Chilton, as clerk for a while; afterward became a member of the firm of Dorschel & Co.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Warren M.C. & Son Grand Rapids: Furniture dealers. Marcus C. Warren, the senior partner, came to Grand Rapids in the spring of 1856, and in the fall of the same year, moved his family here and engaged in his present business as furniture dealer. He was born in Saratoga County, New York in 1813, and in 1827, his father moved to Steuben County, NY. He was married in 1841 to Nancy logan. They have two children, Elizabeth, now Mrs Baker of Rudolph, and Clarence Shepard, who for several years, has been a junior member of the firm. He was born December 17, 1843 at Bath, Steuben County, N.Y., and came to Grand Rapids in 1856. He enlisted Seotember 18, 1861 in Co. G, 12th Wis. Volunteers, veteranized and was mustered our Aug. 10, 1865. He was neither wounded nor sick while in service, but always on duty. He was married December 25, 1866 to Miss Mary I. Searl, of Grand Rapids. She was born in Blackhawk, Iowa, in 1843 and came with her parents to Grand Rapids in 1846, being among the earlist settlers of the place. They have five children living--Walton, Marcus C., George L., Robert Emmet, and Clarence L. Mr W. has been Assessor seven years, Deputy Clerk of the County of Wood, eight years, and Clerk of the County two years.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Waterman Fred D. Marshfield: Filer, was born in Norwich, Windsor County, Vt., November 18, 1848. his father, Henry Waterman, died in 1866, and in 1868, he left home and came to Oshkosh, and was employed in saw-mill as sawyer, for the last four years as filer. Was married, May 4, 1872 to Miss Eva Miner of Oshkosh. Have two children, Maud and Myra. Came to Sherry's Mill, near Marshfield, April 16, 1881.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Wheelan Edward Grand Rapids: Was born in Irelend, County Wicklow on February 20, 1839. he is a son of Edward and Catharine Wheelan. His mother's maiden name was Cody. His father removed to the United States in 1848 and came directly to Milwaukee, Wis. There he died the next year of cholera. His mother removed soon after, to the town of Friendship, on Winnebago Lake, remained there some two years, then removed to Fond du Lac two years, then Oakfield, thence to Oasis, in Waushara County, where he lived inil 1859, when he came to Grand Rapids, and engaged in logging and lumbering on the headquarters of the Wisconsin Rapids and its branches ever since, until he was elected Sheriff of Wood County in the fall of 1880, which office he now holds. Mr. W. was married January 6, 1870 to Miss Mary Wright of Centralia. They have five children--Wm. Edward, Harrison Valentine, Nettie, Edmond Wright and Francis Richard.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Wheeler M.H. Marshfield: General superintendent of company store, was born in Rutland, Mass., August 18, 1851. After the death of his father in 1853, the family moved to Westminster, Mass., where his mother died in 1867. In the spring of 1872, he came to Racine, Wis., thense, in a short time, to Shawano, Shawano County, Wis. Was in the employ of Upham & Russel. Came to Marshfield in October of 1879, as general superintendent of Upham & Bro.s' store. He was married, May 26, 1875 to Miss Cora A. Kelly, daughter of James H. Kelly, Esq., of Racine, Wis. They have three children--Herbert M; Rae E and William D.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Whitman Thomas E. Rudolph: Farmer, Sec. 17, P.O. Grand Rapids. Was born in Goshen, Orange Co., N.Y., March 24, 1824. He lived with his father in Goshen; in New Jersey; and then in Chemung Co., N.Y., until he was of age, when he went to Elmira to live, working at the carpenters trade there for ten years; then he moved to Rudolph, Wis., and took up a farm. He now owns 240 acres on Secs. 16 and 17, Town 23, 6 east. When he came to Rudolph, there were but six families in the limits of the town. He was married in Elmira, to Miss Jane VanEpes, of Homer, Cortland Co., N.Y. They have five children--Edward L.; Clara Isabel; Georgiana; Lewis E. and Frank A. He has served in several on the town offices, such as Town Superintendent, Town Clerk, member of Town Board, etc.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Whitman William H. Rudolph: Farmer, Sec. 17, P.O. Dowdville. Son of Daniel and Hannah Whitman. Was born in Orange Co., N.Y., May 14, 1829. His father moved to New Jersey, and then to Chemung Co., N.Y. He came to Rudolph, Wis., in the winter of 1856-7 and has lived there ever since. He enlisted in Co. B, 46th Wis. V.I., in February 1864; was discharged September, 1865, at Athens Ala. He was married November 5, 1876 to Miss Anna May of Rudolph. Have one adopted child, George.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Whitney George W. Centralia: M.D. Was born in Cumberland County, Me., April 12, 1833. Was educated in Portland. Graduated at Maine Medical School in 1854. Practiced at the Maine Hospital, Boston, previous to coming to Grand Rapids in 1855. Was the first physician who settled here. Was married June 20, 1857, to Miss Elizabeth Anson, of Portland, Me. She died July 24, 1863. leaving one child, Willis, who was born July 23, 1863. Was married July 1865, to Miss Emily Hanson, bu whom they have one son living, Max.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Williams Goerge L. Grand Rapids: Son of Orrin and Ann Williams, was born at Homer, Cortland County, N.Y., May 24, 1848. His father was from Connecticut and his mother from England. His father moved to Whitewater, Wis. in 1855, where he died the same year. George continued to make his home with his mother until 1868, meanwhile he attended Milton Academy in the spring and fall of 1865, and taught his first school in the fall of 1867. He entered Appleton Unicersity in 1868, and was graduated in the scientific course in 1873. He was mail route agent between Appleton and Manitowoc on the M.L.S.& W.R.R. for three and one-half years, and studied law with H.G. & W.F. Turner of Manitowoc and admitted to the Bar in 1875. He came to Grand Rapids in May of 1877 and was elected County Superintendent of Schools for Wood County in November 1877 and served one term; then resumed his practice of law and was elected District Attorney for Wood county in the fall of 1880. He was married October, 1873 to Miss Edith J. West, daughter of Edward West of Appleton, who is said to have taught the first public school in the state of Wisconsin at Milwaukee. Mr. W. is also City Superintendent of Schools at the present time. Mr W. had brain fever when he was four years old, at which time the muscles of his lower limbs became paralyzed, from which he has never but partially recovered, necessitating a life-long struggle with this physical infirmity.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Winch Eli E. Marshfield: Superintendent hub and spoke factory at Marshfield, for the Webster Manufacturing Co. of Menasha; also in charge of all their business west of Stevens Point. He was born April 20, 1848, in Wilmington, Essex County, N.Y. His father Samuel R. Winch, was born at the same place, April 18, 1821. In 1856, the family removed to Illinois, and in November of the same year, came to Rubicon, Dodge county, Wis., from there to Fond du Lac, where he remained five years, then to Charleston, Calument Co., where he follows farming. Eli E. Commenced to work for the company, at Menasha in 1872. Worked before that at Fond du Lac about seven years. He was married, October 28, 1877, to Miss Orpha Willey, of Fond du lac. Have two children.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Wipfli David Altdorf: The children of David and Josephine Arnold Wipfli came from Seedorf, Switzerland in the 1890's. They were cousins to Henrietta, Joseph and the Anton Wipfli children.
Dominick married Anna Bricker, Louis married Josephine Gieslar, Anton, Frederick, Jacob, Michael and Sophie.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Wipfli Anton Altdorf: Anton Wipfli came from Canton Uri, Switzerland in 1886. He was a teacher in Switzerland and was the first organist at St. Joseph's. His daughters, Pauline and Sophia had been educated in Alsace-Lorraine at Convent Belleanne before coming to this country.
He built up a farm in Section 35 of the town of Hansen.
He and his wife, Josephine Albert had children: Pauline married Ralph Smith, Josephine married August Steiner, Sophia married Frank Wuersch, Alfred and Fern died as infants, Frank married Susan Schlig, Mary married Albert Viertel, Anna, Louis, Harriet married Nicholas, Carl, Barbara and Caroline died as infants and Anton.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Wirtz Peter Altdorf: Peter Wirtz came to the United States from the Rhine Province in Germany in 1892 and then came to Altdorf in 1897. He and his wife Anna lived on the former Steiner Farm and had children, Nicholas married Harriet Wipfli, Catherine married William Brockman, Anna married Frank Huser, Gertrude, N. Joseph married Rose Kundert and John Peter.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Withalm Joseph Altdorf: Joseph Withalm came from Austria. The family owned a quarter section of land in the town of Hansen. They came to Altdorf in 1882.
Joseph and wife Rosina had children; John, Johanna married Joseph Meunier, Ferdinand, Victoria married Frank Steiner.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 
Witter Dr. G.F. Grand Rapids: Was born June 6, 1831 in Brookfield, Madison County, New York. Attended the common school and Alfred Academy; teaching school after sixteen years of age, during the winter and securing sufficient means, entered the medical department of the Michigan University, where he graduated in 1856, having studied in the office of Janes & Babcock. Began practice in Wautoma, Wis., remaining there three years. In 1859, established himself in Grand Rapids, at once taking a high rank in his profession. In 1877 was appointed on the State Board of Health--a postion he still holds. Is a member of the American Public Health Association, of the American Medical Association, president of the Northwestern Medical Society and Examining Surgeon for Pensions. Was married in 1860 to Miss Frances L. Phelps. They have three children. The doctor was for eight years, County Superintendent of Schools, and has always been foremost in educational matters, early arranging school matters so as to produce the best results. He was appointed Postmaster by Grant, re-appointed by Hayes and again by Arthur. The doctor is a very useful citizen.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Wood Luman D. Marshfield: Engineer, son of Edmond and Huldah Burtch Wood, was born at Brownstown, Mich., March 20, 1848. His father, who was a master mechanic and millwright, moved to Wisconsin in 1851, and settled at Omro, where he lived until about 1861, then to Berlin until 1876, then to California. The son, L.D. Wood, enlisted in Co F., 3rd Wis Vol., February, 1864, and received his discharge, 28th of June, 1865. He was detailed as hospital steward most of the time while in the army. After the war, worked with his father as a carpenter, then learned engineering. He was married, in 1871, to Miss Matilda Rumble, of Uniontown, Pa. They have one child living, Ida. Mr. Wood is a member of the Temple of Honor, also of the Good Templars.
Source: 1881 History of N. Wisconsin
 
Zurfluh Frank Altdorf: Frank Zurfluh lived near the Elm Lake Station and was responsible for bringing the mail from the Elm Lake Station to the Altdorf Post Office. He came to this area in about 1883.
He and his wife Barbara had children: Frank, Philip, Anton, Fred, Louise, Andrew, Herman, Mary married John Arnold and Paul.
Source: A Century of Faith, 1879-1979.
 

 

Copyright © 2006-2011 Heart O' Wisconsin Genealogical Society